Herb Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I enjoyed this, and the kiddies loved it, but my pickier-than-a-toddler husband didn't care for the herb flavors. I think the directions were spot-on, altho I didn't need the last 1/2 c or so of flour, as I let this knead in the KitchenAid with the dough hook. Next time I'll roll this tighter, as mine came apart a bit, but otherwise really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My swirls also collapsed. The outside was crisp but the inside was kind of doughy. The flavor of the butter could have better also. Probably won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
My spirals also separated a bit, even when fully cooled, but the bread is quite pretty and very tasty. I substituted fresh basil, rosemary, and thyme for the parsley since that's what I had in the fridge. I think I'll be making this again with the addition of some Parmesan and Romano to the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
i just made this bread tonight to take to a friend's house for dinner... but i used basil and rosemary and brushed the top with the butter that leaked out while it was rising. people were literally stealing pieces off of other people's plates. very big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Perfect! I used whatever fresh herbs I had on hand and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
First time that I made this it was amAZING! I used fresh herbs from my garden and added lots..soo good. second time that I made it, it didnt turn out quite as well but still good.. didn't use white flour, used a mix of several.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Yum! This bread looks too good to eat! I used pesto on hand so it wasn't as buttery; next time, I'll used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I used fresh parsley, fresh basil, and a little bit of green onion. The crust and taste was excellent and my family tried the heel first and said it was good before they even got to the "good stuff." Four stars given because I proofed the yeast in the water with the sugar at about 112, as I usually do when baking bread, and added the oil at the same time I added that mixture to the dry ingredients. I just didn't quite trust the saucepan instructions. Don't cut this bread hot or it will squish. Also, my swirls came apart in the slices - maybe I didn't roll it tightly enough. Will try again, though, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States