Herb Roasted Pork Loin and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Not terrible but definitely not really fantastic either. My husband and son liked it though. I'd try it again with some tweaks and definitely some gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueeyes728

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used a 2-lb pork tenderloin. 1 hr at 325 was perfect, even though I forgot to sear (I included the pre-boiled potatoes in that 1 hr). This recipe's a good middle-of-the-road classic that most family members or guests would enjoy, but it didn't really knock my socks off enough for 5-stars. Pork lends itself so well to some really delicious marinades that I would probably prefer to go that route in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Some reviewers are confusing pork tenderloin with loin of pork. A tenderloin is small, up to 2 lbs. The loin is approximately 4 lbs. This makes a Huge difference! The tenderloin by definition is more tender! I found that the 4+ lb loin of pork i used required longer than 100 minutes so i increased the cooking time to 120 minutes. I also agree with other reviewers who suggested browning the loin prior to baking. However, if the loin has been marinated i don't think browning is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I thought the recipe tasted good. However, as is it really needed something extra. I ended up adding lemon pepper, some additional garlic powder and olive oil. One of the reviewers complained about the meat being dry. So, I kept foil on it the whole time. As a result it ended up being fork tender. I sliced it, but the seasonings did not seem to penetrate the meat. I added the additional seasonings and olive oil to the potatoes and meat and then put it under the broiler. After that it was much better. Just a lot of prep work and additional broiling. We will definitely eat it, just not a repeat recipe as a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was a great base recipe. I did sear it first and then cooked my 2lb roast for approx. 50 min. Because of this I put my parboiled potatoes (and carrots) in right at the beginning with the roast. I think it would have been better with some type of gravy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Good and tasty. Make sure you use a meat thermometer and take it out of the oven at 145* and let it rest for a while otherwise the roast will let all its juices go. If it rests it will retain its juiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tie your Roast Pork loin mine came in two pieces the recipe was easy to follow. I personally added fresh Rosemary at the end, to mom2wild Cu-dos for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef_Deb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Juicy and flavorful, everyone raves about it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Wow, this was great. Almost followed the recipe exactly. My changes: 1. Didn't measure spices, simply used "enough". Added Cumin to the rub and the veggies (because I like it on pork). 2. Cooked the entire thing in a cast iron skillet, browning the roast first with a little bacon grease, then putting 2 slices of onion under each end to keep it off the bottom of the skillet. 3. 20 minutes in a 350 oven, then added potatoes and carrots that had been microwaved in water for 10 minutes. 4. Roast took an additional 65 minutes to get up to 150, at which point I took it out to rest for 10 minutes, putting potatoes and carrots back in the oven. 5. Made a simple roux out of bacon drippings and flour, then added chicken stock, seasonings from roast, a little Chipolte powder, Worchestershire Sauce, Dijon mustard and a little lemon juice to make a mustard-y gravy. Everyone raved. The cast iron particularly worked well on the vegetables, making them beautifuly carmelized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States