Herb-Roasted Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Absolutlely wonderful!! I, as well as most, baked for about an hour and 35 mins. I also put herb butter under the skin. It makes it jucier. I stuffed them with garlic, rosemary, and a wedge or 2 of lemon. I made herbed potatoes and put them in the roasting pan along with the hens. Came out fantastic!!! My fiance was in awe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was awesome and my hubby LOVED it! (And that says a lot because he is one picky eater). I didn't have lemon pepper on hand, so i took a small lemon, halved it, and used a couple teaspoons worth of juice in the glaze/marinade. Came out AMAZING and really juicy. I also drizzled the herbs and butter on the inside of the cavity, too. I will definitely be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizzy'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
definitely takes longer than 50 minutes - closer to an hour and a half. it makes your kitchen smell wonderful, and the flavors are nice. i cooked it over cubed potatoes and put extra seasoning on the potatoes - then they soaked up the drippings from the hens and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I loved the flavor. I didn't have the lemon-pepper seasoning, so used an herb chicken seasoning instead. It did take a bit longer than the 50 minutes indicated, and longer than 5 minutes to prep for me. I think I will try the same seasonings on breasts for a less formal dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Doubled the garlic because I love it but really enjoyed the recipe! And it made my kitchen smell great!:) I think I will try it on chicken breasts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very easy to prepare and had a good flavor. The only note I would make is that it took 1 1/2 hours to cook and I was only cooking one hen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Hens are served whole. These came out moist and juicy, but not much flavor. If I make these again I would try putting some of the herb butter under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
absolutely fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is the first time I've ever made game hens. I'm not sure how to serve them. Do you just put a hen on a plate or do you slice it a certain way? Anyway, I followed the directions except that I cooked it ten minutes longer than directed just to make a crispier crust. It didn't dry it out because I had put a little butter under the skin. I liked the herb flavor. Next time, I might not use basil and use rosemary instead. Smelled good in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States