Herb-Roasted Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CharlesSinger
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Really easy to prepare and came out crispy in the outside and very tender and juicy inside. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlesSinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
What a hit. Roasted my hens with sweet potatoes, carrots, garlic cloves, onions, and cherry tomatoes. Such a beautiful, rustic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shtewps
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooter
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a really easy recipe , it was fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Amazing! Made for non traditional thanksgiving, next time will cut the recipe in half, one hen is enough for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I would not recommend this recipe. It cooked improperly,and due to the celery on the bottom, it braised, rather than cooked-- not something I would normally do to chicken or hens. It didn't specify which side 'up', and despite the celery, I cooked it breast side up, which left the breast at least browned, but somewhat dry. The dark meat was cooked and tasty so far as herbs, but very unappetizing looking and not remotely browned, since it was braised, rather than roasted. I wouldn't do that unless it was cooked breast side down, and turned over for browning in the last 20 mins or so. Disappointing, overall. Almost like the person who wrote down the recipe put the effort in, but forgot key aspects. I would lose the lemon inside (overkill) add more garlic (inside and outside) and use less liquid, which I believe is why it took at least 30 mins longer than the recipe stated. Seasonings were right on, but cooking methods and instructions were poor. I wouldn't ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wasn't sure why I lined the dish with celery but the hens turned out great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is absolutely one of the best recipes I have made. I took the celery, juices, garlic, white pepper, and onions and made a sauce for the meat using a blender. I thickened it with flour & butter. I did add more chicken stock, however. This is absolutely fantastic. I usually dislike cornish hens, but no more. I think this is a brilliant idea to cook meat on celery and add all these herbs. Thank you to chef, who thought of this idea. A wonderful treat! Make the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe was so good. Love all the herbs, very flavorful. Will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Salamone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Couldn't have been more pleased. I used these for a medieval feast. I marinated each chicken in the olive oil and herbs overnight and they turned out awesome. I substituted Herbes De Provence (savory, rosemary, marjoram, thyme, basil and lavendar flowers) for a slightly different twist on flavor and simply basted with chicken broth rather than the wine sauce since some of my guests had dietary resrtrictions concerning the use of wine. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Excellent and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustang2411

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States