Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I used the hints from other reviewers and this roast found it's regulary place on my menue. I brine the meat (just soak it in salt water for a few hours, drain and wash salt water off), otherwise it gets a bit dry. I also use only dry herbs since we don't have fresh available. Reduce the liquid by almost half - it is still plenty unless you make gravy with it and like your meat drowning. Bake coverd until meat temperature is around 145, then broil until the bacon is crisp. Very very tasty meat with the herbs, only the onions are sometimes a bit difficult to sell but I love them and don't mind to eat them alone ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was very easy and very good. The bacon was sort of soggy. I was in a hurry; next time I will broil it a little bit before serving. Everyone enjoyed. Our mom wanted to put the recipe in the kitchen drawer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Wasn't a hit at our family potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was incredibly good! I followed the recipe. I used onion wedges and roasted along side of the meat. I have a convection oven and the bacon got a little brown but I did end up broiling the last 5 minutes. Made roasted carrots and mashed potatoes as sides. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I only needed to serve 4 people, so I used a 2.5 lb pork loin (which is actually sold as 2 separate pieces of meat). I laid them side by side and wrapped the bacon across both. I couldn't find fresh pearl onions, so I cut a yellow onion into wedges and also added some carrots as well. I used a meat therm. to cook to 160 which, which only took about 45 minutes. Then I used the broiler for another 10 minutes to crisp up the bacon. I think it was too long in the broiler because I found the meat to be a bit dry. I'd try 5 minutes next time. Since it was a little dry, I made a gravy from the pan drippings by adding some cornstarch mixed with water. It turned out great! And the 2.5 pork loin probably would've fed 6 people. I had plenty of leftovers. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was good....I liked the flavor and the pork was tender, but it tasted like it was a little dried out to me. I liked the bacon and onion flavor along with the herbs. I will make again, but try to add more chicken stock next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
WOW, this was amazing! And very easy!! Made it for Superbowl Sunday Sandwiches- SO GOOD. However, the amount of fat that hardened on top the next day made me not want to eat seconds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was good. Had it for a family dinner, and it turned out good. I didn't think it was very juicy, could've been cause I cooked it to long in the slow cooker...but over all it was a good way to cook a pork roast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
The bacon was the final touch this dish needed to be so yummy. I used my meat injector to inject some of the liquid with seasonings and garlic cloves to make the meat even more flavorful. We barely had any leftovers and thats saying alot when we used a big 6 lb pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
The meat turned out very moist and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States