Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I was skeptical when I first read this recipe and the reviews. I followeed the directions to a T. The meat was moist, but unless you are a die hard bacon lover, this recipe is too much bacon. Don't get me wrong, I love bacon, but this was too much. I even used turkey bacon. Threw the bacon away. Hoping the leftovers just have a tint of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Used a 1 lb loin, 2 of us!! Used 1 T EVO, 1st seared loin, then only change was that I did not use Rosemary (preference), used 1 t each (dried) of all other spices, 4 t minced garlic and 2 c chicken broth. Cooked 1 hour 300 with foil and 1/2 hour without foil, under broiler until bacon crisp and then back in foil to rest 1/2 hour prior to serving...also brined for 2 hours in salt water prior to cooking loin. Moist great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
not as flavorful as my husband would have liked..."needs more KICK!!" i made gravy from drippings and served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made this for my family tonight, & my husband (who can be hard to please) loved it!! I also made some changes because of what I had on hand. I seared the pork loin first, used chicken bouillion instead of broth, dried herbs instead of fresh, garlic powder instead of cloves, and instead of pearl onions, I quartered some small yellow onions and threw in some quarted yukon potatoes also. The onions and potatoes turned out too soft - next time I'd throw them in later to not cook so much, but the flavor was great. I was concerned about the pork turning out dry & bland like I've had happen before with other recipes, but I didn't have time to marinate or brine it. I'm glad I tried this recipe! Altogether, it was very simple to make, very delicious and I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREBANARE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was really good. I did briefly brine and then brown the pork loin. Every thing else unchanged. It was extremely moist and yummy. My kids age 2 and 4 asked for seconds. That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was a great meal! The only thing I changed was the cooking temp. I started it out at 350 for thirty minutes then I turned it down to 325 for the remainder of the time. I followed the 1-1/2 hours with lid and then 1/2 hour without lid and I still had to cook it a little longer to get it to reach the internal temp of 160. I think it might be a good idea to make sure you check the meat temp if you use the lower 300 oven temp. Either that or plan on cooking it longer. My oven, by the way, was just checked for temp accuracy which we all know can make huge differences. Over all this was a wonderful recipe! I followed it word for word otherwise! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was very tasty. I used corn and potatoes as veggies to roast with it. My fiance who I usually have to force to eat his veggies and not just meat actually went back for seconds of only the veggies. Something I have never seen before. I'm going to make it but use corn, carrots, and noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I also used dried spices, left out the rosemary and this came out just right. Tender and very flavorful. My picky kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Tasty and tender! I made this for company and they loved it. I used dried thyme but substituted oregano for the rosemary. I added extra basil leaves instead of sage. I also replaced the pearl onions with quartered red onion and used beef broth rather than chicken. I know I made a lot of changes but it was what I had on hand and really I think its the bacon that makes this so great anyway. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rock Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! Great Recipe. I don't see the need for 3 full cups of chicken broth. 2 might be better. This was so good! I brined and browned it as suggested by other reviews. It was soft and moist! I cooked mine for and hour and 1/2 at 350.It was great! Used Turkey Bacon and it didn't really taste great after being all herby... overall I'd give this a 10. Love the use of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States