Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
PERFECT in every way! I only had dried herbs and it was still amazing! I only needed about 2 cups chicken stock, 10 slices bacon, 1/2 Tbsp. dried rosemary, 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano, 1 Tbsp. dried thyme, 1 Tbsp dried basil, 1/2 Tbsp. dried sage and 1 Tbsp. minced garlic from a jar. I froze about 1/2 of it and it tasted great reheated too. I did brush it w/2 Tbsp of olive oil and seared it first, and then rubbed the herbs on the roast instead of mixing them w/the chicken stock. Then I draped the 10 slices of low sodium bacon horizontally over the roast. I used 3 baseball size sweet onions instead of pearl onions, and didn't add them until probably the last 30 minutes. The timing on this recipe was perfect for me as well. It was about 145 or 150 degrees when I pulled it out and rested it under a loose tent of aluminum foil until it reached 160 degrees (about 10 minutes). I had to put the onions back in to cook more while the meat rested. To the pan juices and onions, I added 1 cup of riesling wine, 1 tbsp cold butter and simmered it on the stove for about 15-20 minutes. It was an amazing sauce to pour over the roast and saved well for leftovers too. I would be proud to serve this to company or for the holidays. THANKS AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
LOVE IT! Husband could not stop raving about how good it was. Anything with bacon makes it better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I used onion powder, dried basil and sage, and minced garlic instead of the leaves and cloves and pearl onions, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The family loved it! The pork was very tender and flavorful. Goes great with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very tastey and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Not impressive. When I saw bacon on the ingredient list I was excited to try this recipe, however, it turned out very bland, the meat had no flavor at all. I started by rubbing the herbs into the meat and let it marinade for 2 or 3 hours prior to wrapping it in bacon, and topping it again with the herb au jus. I was very disappointed as it has very little flavor. The only thing that saved it was a rosemary, pineapple, mandarin orange marmalade I threw together for dipping. I have much better recipes for pork tenderloin than this. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
The Hubby LOVED it!!! Recipe is good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this last night; DE-LICIOUS! A few changes: I used a small Hormel pork loin (1 1/2 lbs) and poked holes all around it and inserted small pieces of garlic. I seasoned with salt, pepper, and paprika and dredged in flour, then seared it in olive oil. I inserted sliced onions under the bacon and only used about half the liquid in the recipe, but then I added a splash of balsamic vinegar. I only had dry herbs, but it was fine! While the roast rested after cooking, I heated the remaining liquid with a corn starch slurry to thicken into a gravy and boy, was it fork-tender and savory! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
My whole family scarfed this down. Here are the changes I made. I used all dried herbs and minced garlic but I rubbed the olive oil on the roast then seasoned it directly. I draped the bacon and then added the chicken stock with some more herbs mixed into it. I did not double the herbs, just divided them. I also used shallots instead of pearl onions and they were AMAZING, they were flavorful and still retained their "crunch" adding a lovely texture to the meal. I followed cooking temp/time exactly and followed a previous review to crisp the bacon with the broiler. FANTASTIC! The meat was juicy and tender and the seasoning was just right. We had this with bacon/mushroom mashed postatoes and green bean casserole...yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States