Herb Dumplings with Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out just as in the picture! Dried sage is most commonly found and most certainly the best for this recipe. Fresh herbs are always more potent so keep this in mind. There is no added salt so the comment on the saltiness one of the reviews can be caused by the brand of soup one chooses. Be sure to check your ingredient labels if you are sensitive to salt. When followed as written and using the technique detailed in this recipe it is a sure winner, moist and full of flavor. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherzStyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was good but not as good as I expected. My favorite part were the dumplings. I cut back a bit on the sage per reviews but they were really salty. It didn't specify how long to cook the chops once you add the sauce and mine ended up being really dry. I wanted to make sure the onions were cooked through. The sauce helped with the dryness but it was a shame that I ruined some very nice chops. I wish I would have listened to some reviewers who browned the chops WITH the onions. On a more positive note, this is a relatively fast and inexpensive skillet dinner which didn't require too much clean up. I served this along with sweet and sour caraway cabbage in the slow cooker. I think white wine instead of water would have added a little more flavor to the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe. I wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made it exactly as written. However, I only liked the sage in the sauce. I did not like sage in the dumplings. Next time I will do plain dumplings. A good recipe and I will make it again with that modification. Thank you Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Tasty, my Fiance loves anything with dumplings, and this dish was no exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was great. I followed the advice of some of the others and added 1 cup of liquid (I used Chicken Broth) and let it simmer longer. They were so tender you could cut them with a fork. I used Gnocchi instead of making the dumplings since it was quicker and I'm not a huge fan of sage. My family were raving over it and everyone had seconds. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was excellent and my husband really liked it as well. I was a little worried about the dumplings and how they were suppose to cook but they turned out great! Don't sweat the process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe was easy and delicious. The dumplings taste like stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Not bad! It turned out great, and tasted like I expected it to- yummy! I added TWO cans of soup because one can just didn't look like enough liquid to be able to cook the dumplings. I also added a clove of crushed garlic, salt, and some other seasonings to the soup mixture (I don't like bland cream of mushroom soup). I also didn't have a pan big enough for my pork chops to be in a single layer, so they had to overlap a little (and I only had 5!). I, too threw in my onions w/ the pork chops. The dumplings came out perfect- I followed the directions exactly. Ha ha...mine had a little green hue to them though because I used ground sage instead of rubbed. Ooops! They still tasted good though! My husband loved it, but he loves any home cooked meal so that's not saying much. Overall it's a good recipe, I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Definitely a comfort food recipe! I altered the recipe a bit but it's still a great basic recipe that you can work with based on your own preferences. I browned the pork chops and threw the onion in as well to carmelize it. I also added fresh mushrooms and a minced clove of garlic. Then I poured in the soup and allowed it to simmer for about 30 mins. Before I put the dumplings on top I added carrots and fresh string beans. I never use shortening, so I substituted butter and added paprika and fresh parsley to the dumplings rather than sprinkling on top. I also added pepper, salt and paprika to the sauce. The cook time for the dumplings was perfect but mine came out a little salty. I would make this again because it's a one-pot meal and I love saucy comfort food! Just give yourself a lot of time to allow the meat to simmer for a while..you'll end up with fall-off-the-bone yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States