Herb-Crusted Chuck Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My roast came out tough, could be the cut of the meat, I don't know. I did like the flavor. Had to put into my crock pot to tenderize it. Had to pour some beef broth over it and cooked it for 2 more hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Cooked exactly as directed, but the roast was sooooo tough. I took it out of the oven, plopped it into the crock pot, and I'm hoping a few hours in there will save it. Fingers crossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I hesitated to use a chuck roast but tried it and it turned out awful. I set the temp a bit lower but the roast came out very tough. the rub did not appeal to any of us either, but that could be simply personal preference. Simple, but I don't think I will be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Super tough. Let's face it, it is the cut of meat . . . you can't make it be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Good! I loved the horseradish sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Tried this today with a chuck roast and it turned out yummy! I'm not sure how many lbs my roast was, but only cooked for about an hour and it was cooked perfectly to medium rare. It was delicious, and I WILL make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious recipe for chuck roast. I was impressed with the outcome given the lower-cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was awesome. I added a couple more herbs for more flavor. I prepared mine in a cast iron dutch oven and it worked as well as a shallow roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Both the rub and the horseradish sauce are excellent! However, if using a cheap cut roast (blade roast) it will not do this recipe justice as written. My first attempt when followed exactly was almost unsalvageable. Cooking time seemed way off and the final result, after cooking much longer than stated in order to achieve the correct internal temp., resulted in a dry, tough roast. The second time I made this I followed others advice and placed carrots & onions in the pan, added 1 cup beef broth, 1/4 cup red wine and some worcestershire sauce. I placed my 3 lb blade roast on this and cooked for MUCH longer. 2 1/2 to 3 hours at 325 then turned up to 400 degrees for 1/2 hr and broiled for 12-15 minutes before removing to rest. I had to keep checking the internal temperature with the meat thermometer and got lucky with the temps/times above. Supper was VERY past due by this point but was well worth the final result. Great flavour, cooked to medium rare and not tough. This makes an excellent gravy as well! Will use the rub for other cuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
great flavor, watch the temp because @ 160 and allowing to rest it still got a little well done. mine did not produce much to make a gravy but will be fantastic sandwiches, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fromkateskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States