Herb Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this biscuit based on a picture that naples34102 had posted. The picture is beautiful and I wanted a nice fluffy, splitting biscuit like hers. I followed the changes she made to this recipe, and they turned out great. I didn't brush with butter when they came out of the oven as I baked them in the morning and heated them up at dinner time. They paired quite well with "Minnesota Wild Rice Soup' from AR. I took half the batch in to co-workers and they were well received there, also. A great biscuit recipe for something savory and different, and one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I've tried some good biscuit recipes and some not so good. I know what I like. I like a biscuit that rises high and pretty, that kind of splits in half just by gently separating it with your fingers. I like a biscuit that's light and tender and certainly not one that's kind of a grease wad (I've tried one or two of those). This one meets all that criteria. They're a good basic biscuit, made special with the addition of herbs. I kind of had the feeling, however, that these biscuits might need a little lift to ensure they would rise as high as I would like. I decreased the baking powder to 2-1/2 tsp. and ADDED 1/2 tsp. of baking soda. I figured since buttermilk, which is acidic, needs baking soda it would love more than what is contained in baking powder. I thought a little straight sodium bicarbonate wouldn't hurt. My suspicions proved to be correct because there was no rising issue with what came out of my oven! I did not add kelp powder. I did add 1/2 tsp. salt and another 1/2 tsp. sugar. As for the herbs, I used fresh thyme along with the dried basil and parsley, although I'm confident any herbs would be good. (Just remember you need three times fresh herbs than dried) I did have to add a little more buttermilk to make the dough pull together. I felt more comfortable baking these at 425* and once out of the oven I brushed them with melted butter to which I added garlic powder and dried parsley. I loved them. They'll go great with our soup tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
When I was a bachelor 50 years ago Pillsbury sold a variety of stews with herbed biscuits. Creamed chicken, tuna, et al. As a widower 40 years later, this is the answer I've been searching for!! Probably have to go to Trader Joe's for the kelp. Great single dish suppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotCaed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These were quick to make and came out just right. They were good with spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very good! I don't make biscuits very often bc I'm not a fan of rolling out and cutting (just one of my least favorite things) but I had milk I needed to use and these looked good. So I perservered past my dislike of rolling pins and made them. I used fresh thyme bc I had it--for the rest of the herbs I used dried. These are pretty easy if I can get past the rolling out part, and taste quite good. I paired with sausage gravy (another recipe on here--Drop Biscuits with Suasage Gravy, subbing these biscuits for the Drop Biscuits) and bf was pleased, although he criticized my choice to make it for dinner. But hey--I'm the cook! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Good recipe. I didn't have all of the herbs but they still had a lot of flavor. It is probably my fault for not letting the baking powder sink in longer but they came out of the oven rather flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Good,easy recipe. Goes well with homemade soup and stew. I've made these several times and they all get eaten. I use fresh herbs instead of dry and the flavour is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
these are very yummy we all loved them. will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have to agree..light and fluffy...needs a little more sugar perhaps two teaspoons instead of 1 & 1/2. Would not need that if putting jam on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum, great with a hearty stew on those cold nights! Its important to know that the kelp is instead of salt. It really just gives it a richer, and slightly salty flavour but these would be good with a pinch of salt as well. The kelp just adds extra minerals and iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazdyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States