Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is a wonderfully fragrant and delicious bread. The recipe, however, requires 3 cups of bread flour, rather than the 2 cups called for in the recipe. (Three cups of bread flour is the standard quantity for a 1-1/2 lb. loaf). This was likely a typing error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I loved this bread! It baked up perfectly although I took it out of the bread machine about 30 minutes early or else it would have been over done. We ate it with potato soup and it went great with that! My husband said it reminded him of stovetop stuffing...probably the sage. Try this recipe and you won't be dissapointed! -- Also this is wonderful toasted with some butter, I bet it would make great crutons -- very flavorful, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This turned out very well, and no adjustments were necessary for high altitude (we live at about 4800 feet). I decreased the sugar to 1-1/2 Tbs. and the salt to 1 tsp. so that the flavors of the spices might come through. As I have learned from past experience, it takes a LOT of spice to make a loaf of bread taste like one thinks it should. This bread is no exception. Next time I will only slightly increase the parsley, nutmeg, sage, and celery seed, since this bread has a good start on being flavorful. Really enjoyed this though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This bread is very good. I did heaping tablespoons or teaspoons of the spices, and I can taste them nicely. I love the taste of clery seed and it is very prominent in this bread--so make sure you like it if you try it! I used my bread machine to make the dough, and I think it needed about 1/8 c more flour--bit it was raining here, so that would do it. I baked in the oven at 375 for about 50-55 minutes. Turned out nice and golden brown yet still soft enough for sandwiches and flavorful toast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Years ago I first made this bread the first time I made Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup. Have always made them together since, probably cuz there were so many happy noises going around the table. The soup is one of dd's favorites but this last time she went back for another slice of bread instead of more soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really tasty, but just a little dry -- I'll add another teaspoon or two of water next time. Subbed coriander and caraway seed for sage and celery seed, and a healthy amount (maybe 2t?) of garlic powder. Didn't measure any of the spices, but it takes a lot to really flavor bread so I did err on the generous side. Next time I think I'll try rosemary and tarragon or maybe basil....this is a really fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I liked this recipe. I had to make one change because I didn't have any celery seed. It tastes great without it, but next time I will give it a try. This bread does remind me of the Rosemary bread, which is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
The smell was wonderful and it looked good but it was very bland which I was suprised about considering all the ingredients. Sorry but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was excellent! I accidentally doubled the Sage, but other than that, followed directions exactly, and it turned out beautifully. It's my first homemade bread and my family absolutely loved it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Planned to have this the same day but had it the next - kind of dry, pretty good flavor but not great - I may try next time to make by hand and not in the bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States