Herb Batter Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This turned out great! Made this exactly as directed, with the addition of 1/2C. grated Parmesan cheese! I'm sure this would be good with fresh pressed garlic in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I HATE when people rate a recipe after they changed a million things about it. I only added a teaspoon of garlic powder, and followed the recipe as is. I didnt bother melting margarine over the bread. I just took a stick of butter and ran it across the top a few times, Why melt butter, if the bread is hot and will melt it on its own? I highly recommend this bread, it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Seriously one of the best bread recipes Ive ever made! I used my bread machine on dough setting and then folded the dough into a nice oval shape and put it in a loaf pan, brushed melted butter on the top and cut a long cut down the middle. LOVE IT! I added garlic as someone else recommended as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Once upon a time I had a recipe for "casserole bread" that was a favorite. No idea where that recipe is now, but this one is as good as or better! Followed the recipe exactly except for substituting olive oil for the shortening. Could not WAIT to cut the bread! My old recipe had the option of adding shredded cheese, so next time I plan to try it. Make sure you start early to allow for rising time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I lost my usual bread recipe that I knew I liked and so I've made a few from allrecipes looking for the softness that I like. This one came out moist with a nice crust that is not too hard or chewy. (I don't like hard chewy crusts. I would say that my 'batter' was stiff enough to be considered a sticky dough. The things I did different are this: I wanted a richer bread so I used milk and butter in place of water and shortening. I left out the parsley and nipped out to the garden and grabbed some fresh chives instead. I also used fresh thyme and rosemary from my garden as well. I'm giving this 5 stars. It's not the absolute best bread I've ever had, but certainly better than 4 stars. It's probably the recipe I will adopt from now on unless I find my other one. I almost forgot to mention, I doubled the recipe and used half to make cloverleaf rolls with it. they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Have made this many times, always great results. Like the way I can mix up my herbs to complement whatever meal I am seving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this bread 2x now and both times turned out delicious. Husband loved it also. This is definately a keeper. I added different spices to mine and it tasted wonderful. Only thing I did different was add some butter to dough when mixing it. Love it thanks for sharing !!!!! Oh by the way it smells great when baking try it today !!!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS25973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this was very good! I found I had to add a bit more water at the end when I added the last cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I just love this recipe. I followed it exactly the first time and it was amazing. I am not known for my bread baking skills. This recipe is fool proof. I also bake it with no added seasoning and it is amazing. Great for sandwiches. I also added 1/3 cup sugar 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup soaked raisins and that was amazing. I now bake this bread twice a week at least. I no longer buy bread. The hands on time is minimal. So excited about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
WOW! This is incredible!!! It has so much flavor and compliments any meal perfectly. I served this with Delicious Ham and Potato Soup from this site, and it was the best meal I've ever had. I definitely agree with other reviewers that it is very similar to macaroni grill. But, if anything, this is better. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States