Herb Baked Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a great recipe and extremely easy. I made it exactly per the recipe, other than using Tilapia filets, as that's what I had on hand. But that was the only change I made. I only gave this four stars because it was a little too much parsley for me, and it seemed the other herbs didn't quite mix with the parsley. I put the herbs in a covered container and shook it to get everything to mix, but the herbs stayed in the bottom of the container, and the parsley stayed on top. But the fish still had a great taste and was verty moist, and I would definitely make again, but try to figure out how to get the herbs blended better before putting on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I was looking for a quick, easy, low-carb recipe and this seemed to fit the bill. Flavor was decent, but I think I would have enjoyed this better with fresh rather than dried herbs. I may try this in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
The only catfish available here is farm raised, which I don't care for, so I used sea perch. I followed the rest of the recipe. We enjoyed this and I imagine it would be even better with wild caught catfish. Thanks, Jordan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by mag_cooks
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
The fish came out with a mild flavor. It's not bad. Nothing spectacular, added a teaspoon of salt to the recipe and also mixed all the herbs into the butter mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Pretty good. Also used Orange Roughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was quite nice - surprisingly, I found the leftovers even better (I ate the 4 servings over three nights). I made it almost exactly as written, except for a little more catfish. My regular store was out of catfish, so I went to another store that had huge fillets about 14 ounces each. So I used two of those, cut in half. Also, my pantry had both dried thyme leaves and ground thyme - I figured the former was more appropriate for this recipe. It did take me quite a bit longer to cook the fish, though - maybe 30 minutes. A fairly simple dish, but I enjoyed it quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I ground the herbs together to mingle the flavors and instead of the dried basil, I had some left over basil pesto so rubbed that on the fish before adding the other herbs. A keeper recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I was trying to break this down for 1 fillet, I added a little salt, because I used unsalted butter. It was good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I really liked this dish. I used The Spice Hunter- Seafood Seasoning instead of the ingredients listed. I did use the butter with just a 1/4 teaspoon of lemon juice. The fillets were perfect after 20 minutes.I ate this with corn grits with yellow bell pepper for my side. I will definitely try this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreole

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe because I'm looking for no-salt recipes. I substituted fresh parsley for the dried, but otherwise followed the original directions. I just didn't think it had much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States