Henry and Maudie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Reallly good healthy option although I did make some variations- swapped butter for apple sauce, added 1 mashed banana and 1 tsp cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Made the recipe as written... VERY good! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookn Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
These cookies were a nice texture, very chewy. I thought they were a little on the bland side for some reason, but still pretty tasty. I added dried currants to them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I enjoyed these very much with dark chocolate chips and walnuts. I found that the longer the dough sat before baking the better they turned out. I think I remember something about whole wheat flour taking longer than regular flour to absorb moisture, maybe something about it having more bran and/or being less refined. I would guess 30 to 45 minutes in the bowl after mixing and before placing on the baking sheet should be enough time for the dough to set up. My third batch was the best in terms of form, holding together, and not turning into a greasy looking mini pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
So easy to work with, very good! Like other reviewers, changed a couple things. Used 1/2c butter and 1/4 applesauce, little under 1c br sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, few dashes nutmeg, and a coarsly shredded apple.. so then only added a little water because of that. Also added just a few sprinkles of mini-choc chips.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was delicious!!! I Substitued the egg for 1/4 cup of applesauce, 1/2 of cup of veg. oil instead of the butter, used whole wheat flour, instead of brown sugar i used sugar in the raw, about 1 tsp. of cinnamon, and added raisins and walnuts... delicious and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These are very good I added coconut, raisins, walnut, and almond these are excellent. My daughter takes them in her launch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I've made this several times. After making it as written, I've reduced the sugar by 1/2 and added chocolate chips. This is a great recipe, allowing for changes based on what you have available and your personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I was searching for whole wheat low sugar cookie recipes and this one was wonderful with a few modifications that I settled on after several experiments. I used a white whole wheat flour (because that is the kind I had). Instead of the brown sugar, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar/splenda blend and 1/2 cup of splenda (they were totally sweet enough with very little real sugar). Instead of the butter, I used 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick) and 1/4 cup of spreadable light butter (I previously tried to use less real butter and more light butter, but the flavor seemed to suffer a bit too much). In the end I used about half of the recommended amount of water (in early experiments, I didn't add any water and the cookies seemed a bit too dry). I also stuck with the 12 minute time limit that several people suggested. This seemed about perfect to me. Next time, I might try to add all of the water and and/or stretch the baking to 13 minutes. Overall, I loved these cookies so much (and so did friends that I made them for) that I gave up my search for another healthy oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My 19 year old son had been asking for me to help him make an oatmeal cookie recipe and the whole wheat flour sold me on it,they were a little too sweet for me but my whole family loved them. Will be making again with 1/2 cup less sugar.(maybe the fact that he added crasins and raisins was too much ?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States