Hello Dollies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
These cookies have been in my family for years, but the recipe is varied slightly. We use 1 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs instead of the nilla wafers and we just melt the butter in the baking dish on the stove then sprinkle the crumbs on top once it's melted (and I use the smaller baking pan one size smaller than the 9x13). Also, I use 1 1/4 cup coconut since the nuts and chocolate chips make it so rich. If I have milk chocolate chips laying around, I'll do half milk chocolate and half semisweet. Also - don't skimp on the condensed milk - I tried making them a couple times with "generic" condensed milk and they were terrible. Pay the extra dollar for Eagle/Borden/Carnation. Perfect for get-togethers - everyone asks what's in them after their eyes roll in a flutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These were good and even better when you know how easy they are to make. Hubby loved them. I also used graham cracker crumbs and a little more coconut, althought that bring it very close to the hello dollies 1 recipe here. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay Young
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Excellent. I added more coconut; I always add extra coconut to recipes that call for it. They were everything they should be: sweet,chewy, crunchy, chocolate-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My fav treat as a child. Easy to make Gluten free, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are one of my favorite all time cookies! I always make them with either 1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs or 1 1/4 cups saltine crackers. Both versions are great. I also am very generous with the coconut as I love coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I have used this recipe for years and it is always a hit. I love to add white chocolate chips as well. Always a crowd pleaser and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for a cousin for Christmas as it was like something his mother used to make and no one could find the recipe. He loved them as did everyone else. They are a little bit of heaven. Although they are rich so cut in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Easy! Delicious! Economical! Rave reviews! Thanks for this great, versatile recipe. Haven't had this before, have now made it 3 times in a fortnight, my co-workers love it. Made it as per recipe the first time (minus pecans, nut allergy) - fantastic! The second time I subbed dark chocolate for the semisweet, and chopped glace cherries and Craisins for pecans, and the third time I subbed white choc for the semisweet, and glace cherries instead of pecans, and added an extra half a tin of milk. I wanted a recipe that was easy to make from items I'd have on hand, and this is it. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Its hard not to love these cookie bars, especially if you are a big fan of coconut. They were so easy to make. I may embellish next time with butterscotch or peanutbutter chips, in addition to the chocolate chips..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Easy to make, and my husbands favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States