Hello Dollies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
These cookies have been in my family for years, but the recipe is varied slightly. We use 1 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs instead of the nilla wafers and we just melt the butter in the baking dish on the stove then sprinkle the crumbs on top once it's melted (and I use the smaller baking pan one size smaller than the 9x13). Also, I use 1 1/4 cup coconut since the nuts and chocolate chips make it so rich. If I have milk chocolate chips laying around, I'll do half milk chocolate and half semisweet. Also - don't skimp on the condensed milk - I tried making them a couple times with "generic" condensed milk and they were terrible. Pay the extra dollar for Eagle/Borden/Carnation. Perfect for get-togethers - everyone asks what's in them after their eyes roll in a flutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These were good and even better when you know how easy they are to make. Hubby loved them. I also used graham cracker crumbs and a little more coconut, althought that bring it very close to the hello dollies 1 recipe here. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay Young
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Excellent. I added more coconut; I always add extra coconut to recipes that call for it. They were everything they should be: sweet,chewy, crunchy, chocolate-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
My husband says these are the "bomb" and my daughter and I both think they taste similar to Almond Joys. Twists to the recipe: 1. Spray pan with non-stick coating - I also used a 9x13 casserole dish 2. I used about 16 graham crackers and crumbled them in my food processor (turned them into dust). I supposed you could also use chocolate graham crackers. 3. I used a 16 oz bag of whole pecans, put them into a plastic bag and smashed them into crumbles using a meat mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Our family loves Dollies! It's easy to make. It's fun, so include the kids. I fix the crust and my daughter likes to add the chocolate chips and sprinkle out the coconut. They are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
while i don't have a rating for these cookies as they have been in my family for years. These cookies are best when graham cracker crumbs and butterscotch and chocolate chips are used. Whatever you do don't skimp on the milk or coconut. the more chips the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are one of my favorite all time cookies! I always make them with either 1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs or 1 1/4 cups saltine crackers. Both versions are great. I also am very generous with the coconut as I love coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Easy to make, and my husbands favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for a cousin for Christmas as it was like something his mother used to make and no one could find the recipe. He loved them as did everyone else. They are a little bit of heaven. Although they are rich so cut in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Its hard not to love these cookie bars, especially if you are a big fan of coconut. They were so easy to make. I may embellish next time with butterscotch or peanutbutter chips, in addition to the chocolate chips..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States