Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
An easy, tasty recipe for a very rich bar. It can easily adapt to any additions. I used toasted walnuts instead of pecans and added one cup of sultanas (golden raisins). I also left out the sugar as they don't need it. The trick with these is not to overbake them as they are supposed to be slightly moist and sticky. I used non stick paper to line the pan and they came out easily. Will make again when I need a quick, easy, and tasty slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I didn't have a problem getting them out of the pan. I overbaked them a little bit but they were still really good. I used chocolate graham crumbs because that is what I had but either seems good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
These tasted yummy but I had a difficult time getting them out of the pan. My neighbors thought they were great. They were very simple to make, so I will probably make them again for a get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Rich and moist, these also freeze and pack well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Everybody goes nuts when I make this EASY recipe!!! I use walnuts instead of pecans & I skip the white sugar because I think the condensed milk & chocolate chips make it sweet enough. Try them with different variations of chocolate chips for a little variety. (once I used 1/2 chocolate chips & 1/2 peanut butter chips--WOW) And make sure the butter is completely incorporated into the graham cracker crumbs for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
GREAT cookie treat. I've been looking all over for this recipe. FINALLY I found one that matches the cookies mom use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Best bars ever! These were soooo easy to make. I added some butterscotch chips with all of the other goodies for a little extra flavor. I'll be making a lot of these for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I had to bake another batch of these cookies because my family ate them all in 5 minutes flat! I put the cookies in the fridge for a while after cooling them for a bit so they would cut and come out of the pan eaiser. Very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
The bars don't bake out very well. I suggest pouring the milk onto the graham mixture and then layering the chocolate chips, coconut, etc. My bars using this recipe were gooey and would not hold together long enough to get one out of the pan, even though I baked them about 15 minutes longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States