Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
These were really good however they didn't look very appetizing. The top had a thick yellow color because of the condensed milk. Also I didn't mix the sugar with the crumbs and butter because I didn't feel it needed any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I made these with a chocolate crust. I crushed 1 cup of chocolate Teddy grahams and 1 cup of the chocolate cookies you use for icebox cake (I think they are called Famous Chocolate Wafers). I also eliminated the sugar from the crust, and I used a 9 x 13 pan, which makes the crust a little thinner than the 9 x 9. These bars are even better after having been refrigerated for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Awesome! I used chopped macadamia nuts instead of pecans and used a combination of semi-sweet chocolate, butterscotch and milk chocolate chips sprinkled on top and my family emptied the pan in a day and a half and asked me to make more. This from a group that usually turns their nose up at anything with coconut and nuts in it! My oven is tempermental so I had to bake this for almost 40 minutes but the result was fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I’ve been making these for years. I end up making about half a dozen batches each holiday season because everybody devours them! My #1 favorite sweet of all time! - I leave out the sugar in the graham cracker crust - suggestion 1: make sure the graham cracker is very firmly packed down, this will help it stay together better after the bars are cut - suggestion 2: if you use too much butter/margarine the graham cracker crust gets very dense and a little yucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and both times it did not turn out so great. My two pieces of advice are to not add the sugar to the crust. If you do, try brown sugar and less of it, as the first time the white sugar actually was kind of crunchy. Brown sugar generally melts better. Second, add more butter to the crust. Both times the crust is not crusty and both times the bars fall apart. Also, I didn't like the condensed milk on top of the coconut. It's still got potential. My changes to recipe are pretty substantial but if you are interested they include about 1/8 a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, more butter (1/2 stick to a stick more- until it is pretty moist), a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Smoosh it into pan. I layered crust with a 16 oz bag of milk choc chips, then about 8-10 oz halved walnuts. I poured the condensed milk on the nuts and chocolate and sprinkled cocount on top. It came out much better with a nice golden toasted coconut flavor- I thought. I did my best to reserve a tougher judgment on the outcome but feel the crust issues make a 3-star vs a higher rating. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
A really great and easy sweet, takes no time at all to make and is (almost) instantly gone. A Favorite of friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My mother used to make these when I was little. These are so good. I will use a larger pan next time (larger than 9x12) because the graham cracker crust was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
These were ok. I used cinnamon graham crackers for the crust and that added a nice hint of cinnamon. They were a very rich cookie. I think when I make them next time I will add less chocolate and more coconut. Overall, I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Fantastic! I used to make several pans of these and then package them in Christmas tins for my schoolteachers when I was a girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States