Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
OMG, these are to die for!! As others suggested, I made the bars in a 13x9x2" pan, didn't add sugar to the graham cracker mixture, and increased the coconut to 1 1/3 cup. The second time I made these, I used a 9x9" pan, and only 1 cup of coconut (as called for). I think I like the second method the best (and leave out the sugar in the graham cracker mixture). Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This decadent cookie bar is great for family get-togethers at Thanksgiving or Christmas! It tastes like you've spend a lot of time on it, but it's so simple! Deee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I can't make these alot because we can't stop eating them! I usually reduce the butter and use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
YUM YUM YUM!!! My mother used to make these when I was little and these tasted exactly like them. I also added extra chocolate chips like suggested. I also let mine cook a little longer because I like the crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
They're fantastic, everyone loves them. I substitute sugar and flour for the graham cracker crumbs to form a shortbread base. This holds together far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
These were very easy, but way too rich. By my second bite I had a stomach ache. If you like sickeningly sweet things, you may like them; other people seem to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
These were really good however they didn't look very appetizing. The top had a thick yellow color because of the condensed milk. Also I didn't mix the sugar with the crumbs and butter because I didn't feel it needed any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I made these with a chocolate crust. I crushed 1 cup of chocolate Teddy grahams and 1 cup of the chocolate cookies you use for icebox cake (I think they are called Famous Chocolate Wafers). I also eliminated the sugar from the crust, and I used a 9 x 13 pan, which makes the crust a little thinner than the 9 x 9. These bars are even better after having been refrigerated for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Awesome! I used chopped macadamia nuts instead of pecans and used a combination of semi-sweet chocolate, butterscotch and milk chocolate chips sprinkled on top and my family emptied the pan in a day and a half and asked me to make more. This from a group that usually turns their nose up at anything with coconut and nuts in it! My oven is tempermental so I had to bake this for almost 40 minutes but the result was fantastic. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I’ve been making these for years. I end up making about half a dozen batches each holiday season because everybody devours them! My #1 favorite sweet of all time! - I leave out the sugar in the graham cracker crust - suggestion 1: make sure the graham cracker is very firmly packed down, this will help it stay together better after the bars are cut - suggestion 2: if you use too much butter/margarine the graham cracker crust gets very dense and a little yucky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States