Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was actually the very first thing I ever cooked!! I made these in my 6th grade Home economics class. I have loved them ever since!! Its amazing how many different versions of this recipe there are but I like this one because its the same way I have always made it. And I got an A+ for making it so I am giving yours an A+ too!!.... But I wonder what rasberry jelly would taste like in them? Maybe I will try that next time. Thank you for posting one of my all time favorites!! Trust me guys...these are GOOD!! You shouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We use peanuts instead of the nuts in the recipe and we add peanut butter chips and we do half chocolate chips and half white chocolate for a pretty design
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I only gave it 4 stars since the recipe states 9x9 pan but it definitely needs to be made in a 9x13. I added a cup of butterscotch chips and changed up the order of the layers. I did the crust THEN the condensed milk and the layered the goodies on top.I gently pressed the goodies into the condensed milk and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Good recipe- although stick to the recommended measurements. I used a whole bag of chocolate chips and pecans and it was a bit too much. Definitely crush the pecans into little pieces. And maybe put wax/parchment paper down before as I found it hard to get them out of the pan. Overall they're great bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Absolutley love this recipe...i make it all the time but definatley leave out the sugar !! u do not need it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I used a little more coconut than called for, and a little less milk...they taste just like my Grandma used to make for Christmas! I took some in to work, and everyone asked me for the recipe!!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very easy to make. I continue to bring these to events, and they are gone before I know it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
very good,did not use the sugar and the bars were sweet,other than that followed the recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I am so glad I found this recipe. My grandmother used to make Hello Dollies and I've made them before but guessed at the amount and order of ingredients. They always turned out different, sometimes crispy sometimes gooey, but everyone always loved them. Today I followed this recipe exactly on one batch and the 2nd batch I omitted the sugar the way some have suggested. They held together better with the sugar and didn't taste any less sweet without. I think the sugar is to help hold the graham cracker crumbs together. Oh and I pressed the crust very firmly and cut the cookies after they had cooled about 30 minutes and they held up well. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States