Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good my mom made these for me as a child and turned out just as good as i remember. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I enjoyed these but they were quite sticky. The ones I've had before were not so moist on top. I would try these again and perhaps spreading them out in a larger pan would help the texture be more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These turned out great (especially following the other reviewers' advice to skip the sugar in the crust). It was fun to make these in Sweden for a little taste of home. Here's how I adapted the recipe to work here: In metrics, you should set the oven to 165 degrees C and use a bit less than 150 g butter and a 4 dl can sweetened condensed milk. I was able to find this at ICA - it's translated very straightforwardly as "sötad kondenserad mjölk" in Swedish. If you are unable to bring chocolate chips from home (or buy them somewhere like France), you can chop up a cheap dark chocolate bar into bits. Euro Shopper Maria biscuits (Maria kex) taste almost exactly the same as graham crackers and worked well for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These are so simple and so good. THe kind of recipe you will go back to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Yummy! I had to use a 9x13 pan so used 3 cups graham crackers and an extra couple Tbsp of butter for the crust. This made for a nice thick crust that held together well. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom in Calgary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Hello Sweetness! goodness, these bars are extroadinarily sweet, so i can see people wanting to eliminate the sugar for that reason. I'm puzzled by the comments about crusty sugar though--mine blended in the crust just fine. maybe bc i put the sugar into the butter before adding the graham crackers? who knows, but i probably won't make these again--way too sweet for me, even if i cut out the sugar and used flaked unsweetened coconut instead of sweetened coconut. for people who love sweet and rich treats, though, they will probably love them. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Here is a quick tip for everyone. I put the condensed milk into a glass measuring cup and microwave it for 1 minute. It makes it so much easier to pour it evenly over the crust. Also, we have always put the milk first over the crust then the coconut, pecans and choc chips. Press everything lightly into the milk and bake as directed. They come out much better that way. Word of warning, these are very sweet but if you have a healthy sweet tooth they are ohhhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Wow , I made this 3 times now in the last 2 weeks. They are just scrumptious . Even people who dont like coconut are swooning over these. I made them in the 9x9 instead the last 2 times because the graham layer was paper thin in the 13x9. I reccomend you double the graham crackers , butter and sugar if making in a 13x9 pan . Other than that ......heaven , pure heaven !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
They have a really good taste but i wasn't completely satisfied with the crust. It seem to have gotten a bit mushy and wasn't holding well together even after it cooled down. I think next time i will try using a graham cracker crust that is usually used in cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
It's hard to beat these super sweet treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States