Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I really cant explain enough about how much I love these treats. My ex bf's mother used to make these during Christmas and I never knew what they were called. She just knew how much I loved them and used to make me an extra pan for myself, she used to just say, I have ur favorites! I have been looking everywhere for this recipe. It is so simple but it satisfies my every sweet craving. The mixture of graham, chocolate, coconut, and nuts, is heavenly! I know it doesn't seem like a big deal dessert, but to me it is, and I am grateful to you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I doubled the recipe, put it in a 9x13 pan, omitted the nuts, and used Skor Toffee Bits instead. Mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Best version of this recipes. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made Hello Dollies for years. I find that the best crust is waverly crackers instead of graham crackers. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I've made these a million times. This was one of the first dessert recipes I started with 24 years ago! I saved this to my recipes (because an ex bf back when I joined the site in 2005). He and I would argue and argue over the name of this recipe. He had grown up calling them hello dollies and I had never heard of that. I grew up knowing them by the name from the back of the can of Eagle Brand milk, magic cookie bars. Either way - these are delicious. I have always used an entire bag of chocolate chips and doubled the pecans I used. Thanks for posting this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made this w/out the sugar in addition to going down to only 1/4c of melted butter w the 2 cups of graham crackers. I have also made it with dried cherries instead of chocolate chips. Covered half w coconut half w/out for my kids. Tastes like a cherry cobbler bar. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I like this dessert as is but if I want it a little less sweet, I will use unsweetened coconut and dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not care for these at all. They turned out very dry and no one ate more than one. Will have to look for another recipe - not sure what happened with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJDrakester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I love these bars! It's a Christmas Eve must have! I don't add the sugar to the crust, these are plenty sweet enough on there own. I also use the same measurements but make this recipe in a 13x9 pan lined with Parchment Paper. This recipe is really forgiving, you want more or less of something it still tastes great. I use Walnuts if they are cheaper, and unsweetened coconut ( to cut the sweet even further. I could literally eat an entire pan of these little gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Please note the pan size is wrong in this recipe, I wish I had read the other reviews before making these. They maybe would have made a nice bar in a 9x13 pan, in the 9x9 it turned into a soupy mess & took forever to bake. Very Disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States