Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Here is a quick tip for everyone. I put the condensed milk into a glass measuring cup and microwave it for 1 minute. It makes it so much easier to pour it evenly over the crust. Also, we have always put the milk first over the crust then the coconut, pecans and choc chips. Press everything lightly into the milk and bake as directed. They come out much better that way. Word of warning, these are very sweet but if you have a healthy sweet tooth they are ohhhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
OMG, these are to die for!! As others suggested, I made the bars in a 13x9x2" pan, didn't add sugar to the graham cracker mixture, and increased the coconut to 1 1/3 cup. The second time I made these, I used a 9x9" pan, and only 1 cup of coconut (as called for). I think I like the second method the best (and leave out the sugar in the graham cracker mixture). Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Everybody goes nuts when I make this EASY recipe!!! I use walnuts instead of pecans & I skip the white sugar because I think the condensed milk & chocolate chips make it sweet enough. Try them with different variations of chocolate chips for a little variety. (once I used 1/2 chocolate chips & 1/2 peanut butter chips--WOW) And make sure the butter is completely incorporated into the graham cracker crumbs for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Love these!! This recipe was handed down to me by my mom, minus the sugar.....which is NOT needed. Also, I use a 9x13 pan. A Christmas tradition in my home!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I am so glad I found this recipe. My grandmother used to make Hello Dollies and I've made them before but guessed at the amount and order of ingredients. They always turned out different, sometimes crispy sometimes gooey, but everyone always loved them. Today I followed this recipe exactly on one batch and the 2nd batch I omitted the sugar the way some have suggested. They held together better with the sugar and didn't taste any less sweet without. I think the sugar is to help hold the graham cracker crumbs together. Oh and I pressed the crust very firmly and cut the cookies after they had cooled about 30 minutes and they held up well. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
These cookies have been a favorite for years. I always add an additional cup of butterscotch chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Seven Layer Bars are the BEST! Bring these to a party and they will be gove in a heart beat! I like to make a larger batch in a 9x13 pan so I upscale the ingredients a little. (Oh, using the whole bag of choco chips makes them a little more decadent!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
An easy, tasty recipe for a very rich bar. It can easily adapt to any additions. I used toasted walnuts instead of pecans and added one cup of sultanas (golden raisins). I also left out the sugar as they don't need it. The trick with these is not to overbake them as they are supposed to be slightly moist and sticky. I used non stick paper to line the pan and they came out easily. Will make again when I need a quick, easy, and tasty slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
I have made these a lot but without the white sugar, they're sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I made these with a chocolate crust. I crushed 1 cup of chocolate Teddy grahams and 1 cup of the chocolate cookies you use for icebox cake (I think they are called Famous Chocolate Wafers). I also eliminated the sugar from the crust, and I used a 9 x 13 pan, which makes the crust a little thinner than the 9 x 9. These bars are even better after having been refrigerated for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States