Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and both times it did not turn out so great. My two pieces of advice are to not add the sugar to the crust. If you do, try brown sugar and less of it, as the first time the white sugar actually was kind of crunchy. Brown sugar generally melts better. Second, add more butter to the crust. Both times the crust is not crusty and both times the bars fall apart. Also, I didn't like the condensed milk on top of the coconut. It's still got potential. My changes to recipe are pretty substantial but if you are interested they include about 1/8 a cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, more butter (1/2 stick to a stick more- until it is pretty moist), a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Smoosh it into pan. I layered crust with a 16 oz bag of milk choc chips, then about 8-10 oz halved walnuts. I poured the condensed milk on the nuts and chocolate and sprinkled cocount on top. It came out much better with a nice golden toasted coconut flavor- I thought. I did my best to reserve a tougher judgment on the outcome but feel the crust issues make a 3-star vs a higher rating. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
A really great and easy sweet, takes no time at all to make and is (almost) instantly gone. A Favorite of friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
My mother used to make these when I was little. These are so good. I will use a larger pan next time (larger than 9x12) because the graham cracker crust was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
These were ok. I used cinnamon graham crackers for the crust and that added a nice hint of cinnamon. They were a very rich cookie. I think when I make them next time I will add less chocolate and more coconut. Overall, I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Fantastic! I used to make several pans of these and then package them in Christmas tins for my schoolteachers when I was a girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Oh my gosh-these are delicious! My husband loves them and happily runs off to the store for the ingredients if I even hint that I am thinking about making them. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Love these!! This recipe was handed down to me by my mom, minus the sugar.....which is NOT needed. Also, I use a 9x13 pan. A Christmas tradition in my home!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
An easy, tasty recipe for a very rich bar. It can easily adapt to any additions. I used toasted walnuts instead of pecans and added one cup of sultanas (golden raisins). I also left out the sugar as they don't need it. The trick with these is not to overbake them as they are supposed to be slightly moist and sticky. I used non stick paper to line the pan and they came out easily. Will make again when I need a quick, easy, and tasty slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I didn't have a problem getting them out of the pan. I overbaked them a little bit but they were still really good. I used chocolate graham crumbs because that is what I had but either seems good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States