Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Here is a quick tip for everyone. I put the condensed milk into a glass measuring cup and microwave it for 1 minute. It makes it so much easier to pour it evenly over the crust. Also, we have always put the milk first over the crust then the coconut, pecans and choc chips. Press everything lightly into the milk and bake as directed. They come out much better that way. Word of warning, these are very sweet but if you have a healthy sweet tooth they are ohhhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Wow , I made this 3 times now in the last 2 weeks. They are just scrumptious . Even people who dont like coconut are swooning over these. I made them in the 9x9 instead the last 2 times because the graham layer was paper thin in the 13x9. I reccomend you double the graham crackers , butter and sugar if making in a 13x9 pan . Other than that ......heaven , pure heaven !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
They have a really good taste but i wasn't completely satisfied with the crust. It seem to have gotten a bit mushy and wasn't holding well together even after it cooled down. I think next time i will try using a graham cracker crust that is usually used in cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
It's hard to beat these super sweet treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole McGovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was actually the very first thing I ever cooked!! I made these in my 6th grade Home economics class. I have loved them ever since!! Its amazing how many different versions of this recipe there are but I like this one because its the same way I have always made it. And I got an A+ for making it so I am giving yours an A+ too!!.... But I wonder what rasberry jelly would taste like in them? Maybe I will try that next time. Thank you for posting one of my all time favorites!! Trust me guys...these are GOOD!! You shouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We use peanuts instead of the nuts in the recipe and we add peanut butter chips and we do half chocolate chips and half white chocolate for a pretty design
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I only gave it 4 stars since the recipe states 9x9 pan but it definitely needs to be made in a 9x13. I added a cup of butterscotch chips and changed up the order of the layers. I did the crust THEN the condensed milk and the layered the goodies on top.I gently pressed the goodies into the condensed milk and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Good recipe- although stick to the recommended measurements. I used a whole bag of chocolate chips and pecans and it was a bit too much. Definitely crush the pecans into little pieces. And maybe put wax/parchment paper down before as I found it hard to get them out of the pan. Overall they're great bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Absolutley love this recipe...i make it all the time but definatley leave out the sugar !! u do not need it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I used a little more coconut than called for, and a little less milk...they taste just like my Grandma used to make for Christmas! I took some in to work, and everyone asked me for the recipe!!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States