Hello Dollies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Just made this and it is GOOD! To all the " prudes" who suggest not adding the sugar to the graham cracker crust...Umm, hello! This is a dessert! It's supposed to be sweet. And honestly that extra bit of sugar hardly makes a difference except that it ups the yum factor. I've made many graham cracker crusts and not adding the sugar is just pointless. I actually left mine in the oven longer because the coconut wasn't toasted enough. 35 min or so for a nice, golden color. I also used a majority walnuts since that's what I had, with 1/4 cup of pecans I had left over from Thanksgiving. This is the first thing I've baked since the holiday and it's perfect for transitioning from heavy, intense baking to something easy and foolproof before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Oh my!!!! These are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My husband's FAVORITE!! Even better w/ butterscotch chips(1/2 the chocolate chips). A keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So good and easy to make! I also made these in a 9x13 pan and increased the chocolate chips & coconut a little bit. So gooey and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by cstokely
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I am one of those people who cannot bake without a recipe, so I followed this one to the letter and it was a big hit! I wouldn't change a thing, except I might try some peanut butter and/or white chocolate chips next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good my mom made these for me as a child and turned out just as good as i remember. loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I enjoyed these but they were quite sticky. The ones I've had before were not so moist on top. I would try these again and perhaps spreading them out in a larger pan would help the texture be more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These turned out great (especially following the other reviewers' advice to skip the sugar in the crust). It was fun to make these in Sweden for a little taste of home. Here's how I adapted the recipe to work here: In metrics, you should set the oven to 165 degrees C and use a bit less than 150 g butter and a 4 dl can sweetened condensed milk. I was able to find this at ICA - it's translated very straightforwardly as "sötad kondenserad mjölk" in Swedish. If you are unable to bring chocolate chips from home (or buy them somewhere like France), you can chop up a cheap dark chocolate bar into bits. Euro Shopper Maria biscuits (Maria kex) taste almost exactly the same as graham crackers and worked well for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These are so simple and so good. THe kind of recipe you will go back to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Yummy! I had to use a 9x13 pan so used 3 cups graham crackers and an extra couple Tbsp of butter for the crust. This made for a nice thick crust that held together well. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom in Calgary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hello Dollies I

Layers of chocolate and coconut make these bars chewy and addictive.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States