Heirloom Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I halved this recipe and baked it in a 9 inch round cake pan. The result was very pretty. The cake is full of blueberries with a subtle hint of cinnamon. Nice and moist too. I made a crumb topping for it using brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and butter. Terrific! Thanks AuntieJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I halved this recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Even with the smaller cake, it still took the full baking time to test done. This is a nice, moist, classic blueberry cake. We enjoyed it with a little whipped cream and additional fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and made it in an 8x8 pan, since it's just my husband and me and I'm on a diet (I like to torture myself). Also used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk, as that is what I had. This was very good. I enjoyed it as is, but think I might like to try it with a crumb topping another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Awesome recipe. I substituted butter for shortening (the same amount) and instead of sour cream, I used 1 cup of vanilla yogurt. If you plan on doubling the recipe, I suggest baking it on 325 instead of 350, as it is a denser cake. Will definitely be making this again! and again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilviaAna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This cake was so delicious! We really enjoyed this moist, beautiful ,cake! It is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My 7 year old loves blueberries and requested a blueberry cake for her birthday. I found this recipe and decided to try it out. I made it as written and it was WONDERFUL. I was a bit worried because the batter was so thick, but it was perfect! I used two 9" round cake pans to make a layered cake. I made cream cheese frosting to frost the cake. Great recipe. I will definitely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
excellent recipe my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was really good. If you don't like overly sweet cake you may want to scale back the sugar. Added a tsp of vanilla. This was so moist and really nice with the cinnamon. I didn't think it needed any topping. My husband wanted some though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was great as written; didn't find it too sweet at all. Added about half a teaspoon of strong almond flavoring and a handful of sliced almonds to the batter, then sprinkled more sliced almonds and a bit of sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a KEEPER! Moist,great tasting and soooo easy. I added a 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice and it was perfect. I will make again and try it with rhubarb. Excellent! Yummy is my husband's rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States