Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Just delicious! Didn't change a thing but baked them a couple minutes longer. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious! Both my husband and 2 year old are happily munching away. I ground the walnuts and dates in a mortar and pestle in small portions, which released the walnut oil beautifully, so I didn't have any trouble with the dough sticking together, and they didn't stick to an ungreased cookie sheet. I also added a splash of rum, which complements the flavors nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mer
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Simply Great. Cross between a cookie and candy due to the soft interior. Needed a gluten free dessert for Christmas exchange w/neighbor. Did not encounter any problems noted by previous reviewers. Pulsed walnuts/dates in food processor until nice mix of fine and small bits to insure everything held together. No need for extra egg. Placed on parchment paper on cookie sheet, baked the full 17 minutes. They came out of the oven looking like an undercooked cookie w/browned coconut exterior. No problem...they just need to set. I slid the parchment paper, cookies and all, onto a wire rack to cool completely. VERY hard to wait....the smell was amazing! But, while warm they fall apart. Once cool they were perfect and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Fell apart while I ate them but it was worth it, they're sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Crispy outside, chewy inside. I added one egg, as another reviewer suggested, and I preferred the texture when using finely shredded coconut. You will need to increase your bake time by a couple of minutes. I solved the sticking problem by baking on a silicone pad. This cookie doesn't have an overly sweet taste to it, so you can just appreciate the true flavors of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love these!! So easy to make! I didn't have enough walnuts and substituted one cup with pecans. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. These are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
So good! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These were great for the first try. The reason for the 4 stars was nearly taring them apart removing them from the ungreased pan which was layered with foil to make easyer clean-up. I'd like to experiment with adding a little dried fruit and maybe some flavored Liqueur. I'd take a picture but my daughter talked me into letting her take them home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
these cookies are healthy alternative with no butter or flour. we didn't have enough walnut so we used hazelnut as well. The dough was easy to work with and we had no trouble rolling them into balls and they stayed that way after you baked them. I used fresh grated coconuts, which I prefer, and it turned out really well. We even sprinkled powered sugar for decoration. I can see why some people don't like it but they really don't taste bad. You just have to past this mind set of traditional cookies with flour and butter in order to appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Added an extra egg to make them stick together...fabulous cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States