Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
A great Christmas favorite. Only difference is that all the coconut is added to the mixture and the balls are rolled in extra ground walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
These make a pretty presentation on a cookie tray. But most of all they are absolutely wonderful with a steaming hot cup of coffee! Thanks for sharing Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Added an extra egg to make them stick together...fabulous cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
These cookies are chewy, sweet, and scrum-didillyumptious! Will be great for my brother who is allergic to gluten...if there's any left! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mer
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Simply Great. Cross between a cookie and candy due to the soft interior. Needed a gluten free dessert for Christmas exchange w/neighbor. Did not encounter any problems noted by previous reviewers. Pulsed walnuts/dates in food processor until nice mix of fine and small bits to insure everything held together. No need for extra egg. Placed on parchment paper on cookie sheet, baked the full 17 minutes. They came out of the oven looking like an undercooked cookie w/browned coconut exterior. No problem...they just need to set. I slid the parchment paper, cookies and all, onto a wire rack to cool completely. VERY hard to wait....the smell was amazing! But, while warm they fall apart. Once cool they were perfect and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I love these!! So easy to make! I didn't have enough walnuts and substituted one cup with pecans. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. These are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Crispy outside, chewy inside. I added one egg, as another reviewer suggested, and I preferred the texture when using finely shredded coconut. You will need to increase your bake time by a couple of minutes. I solved the sticking problem by baking on a silicone pad. This cookie doesn't have an overly sweet taste to it, so you can just appreciate the true flavors of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
So good! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
these cookies are healthy alternative with no butter or flour. we didn't have enough walnut so we used hazelnut as well. The dough was easy to work with and we had no trouble rolling them into balls and they stayed that way after you baked them. I used fresh grated coconuts, which I prefer, and it turned out really well. We even sprinkled powered sugar for decoration. I can see why some people don't like it but they really don't taste bad. You just have to past this mind set of traditional cookies with flour and butter in order to appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I was really hoping this recipe would yield some good date cookies. I was horribly disappointed. I was sceptical during the mixing process when I was supposed to "roll into balls" because the items didn't stick together with just brown sugar and two eggs. Then when I pulled them out of the oven they LOOKED good- but they were super stuck to the "ungreased cookie sheet" and they absolutely fell apart when I scraped them off, and the coconut that was "rolled around" the cookie was brown and the center of the cookie was goo. Guess the search continues for a good date cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States