Heddy's Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Fabulous! Made it with the chili option. I brought it to a church "soup and bread" Christmas carol sing and labeled it "Comfort & Joy Soup" with note "contains beans, carrots, onions, corn, tomatoes, veg broth com and chili powder how JOYFUL with no Meat, dairy, sugar, or gluten. How COMFORTING!" A huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was the most delicious soup!! Very hearty and great for a wintry day!!! Leftovers were even better!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Even my hubby and son loved it and they always want meat in there soup, but they were quite pleased with this one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My husband and I both loved it. I made it as directed and then added a little more allspice (that's just a personal preference). I didn't have refried beans so I just mashed half with a blender. Now I Just buy dried beans and it makes for a very inexpensive meal. You might have to adjust a little, but it's worth it. I paired it with a couple of small cheese quesadillas and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This soup more or less reminded us of chili. I added both the chili powder and maple syrup. The chili powder overpowered any hint of maple and we couldn't taste it. It was a good "chili" but certainly needed a little salt for flavor. We topped it with sour cream and cheese. My kids loved it! The only change I made to the recipe was that I used chicken broth instead of vegetable (It's what I had available). I probably won't make this one again because I have other chili recipes I like better. Maybe I'll have to try this one without the chili powder and just go with the maple syrup instead. It will probably make it taste less like a chili and more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Black beans are hard to find here in France, so I tried it with small brown lentils instead, and it worked really well! I used the chili powder and left out the celery and corn. Delicious protein substitute when we're sick of meat and fish, and it's fairly carb- and fat-friendly, too. I'll definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is delicious! Was looking for a recipe that would let me use up a lot of cans of beans, and this fit the bill perfectly. I didn't have any tomatoes, so I left them out. I also left out the olive oil. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, and frozen sweet corn instead of canned. The rest of the recipe I followed as written. I love adding some of the beans as puree - gives the soup a nice thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Today was clean out the fridge day and wonder of wonder, virtually all ingredients called for were lurking in dark corners. Halved recipe and used homemade beans instead of canned along with Rotel instad of diced tomaties. I made the chli version and am in love with your recipe. Haven't pureed it yet - not sure if I will or not, but had a bowl for lunch along with cornbread. Delish. Cooked chicken (I used chicken broth) would be great thrown in. I can also see throwing in leftover steak next time (using beef broth) for a more hearty meal type dish. In any event, I did not find bland whatsoever - maybe it was my beans as I love heavily flavored items. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for my vegetarian daughter. She and the rest of the family absolutely loved it. Will definitely be making this again. I followed the recipe as is but did not add the maple syrup and used frozen corn instead of canned. Also added thyme, basil and parsley for added seasonings! Served this soup with cornbread muffins. Yummy soup...thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This soup was very flavorful. I had so many beans in my pantry and I was searching for a recipe that I would like and my kids as well and this was definitely a winner. I didn't have maple syrup so I omitted that. I also didn't have any corn but it was fine without. I added some fresh parsley in the last few minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States