Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
For some reason mine looked like a white cake but tasted like cornbread... Followed everything in the recipe, not sure what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This cake tasted like it was made at a grocery store. I think it may be the almond extract that gave the cake a slightly unnatural flavor. If you enjoy almond flavor, and a drier texture to your cakes, this is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANicole
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe created the best cake I've ever made!!! It was awesome! I made it for a baby gender reveal party and the guests couldn't get enough of it! I was asked if I sell them (um-no) and two people contacted me a couple days later asking me to make another one! I will say this though....this recipe is a - lot - of - work! I'm not one who bakes from scratch much anymore, I typically doctor up a box mix but this was definitely worth the work. I followed the many suggestions around the extra milk and folding in the meringue. Heavenly is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is great. The cake comes out to be sweet, fluffly , moist and just perfect.. Loved it with sugar crystals on the edge.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is an amazing recipe!! Like other reviewers, I used 1.5 cups of milk and made the meringue right before folding it in. I did not have cake flour, so I subtracted 2 tbsp of flour per cup (but I still sifted it before measuring and then three times more with the other dry ingredients); I also 1.5x the recipe, which made an 8 in round, a mini loaf pan, and a 10'' x 2'' round (don't ask, it was for a french project). Additionally, I really wanted to try to make rainbow cake (first time!) and this worked beautifully! I divided the batter to make orange, red, green, blue, purple, and yellow, then dropped globs of batter into the pan. Next, I used a toothpick to swirl the colors together, which made a nice marbled effect. I baked the cakes at 325 and just eyeballed the time (I always bake at this temp because my cakes cook more evenly this way). The color was great, and after cooling, I wrapped them in plastic wrap to keep them moist. Thank you so much, Carol! (P.S. I'll add a photo once I finish decorating!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a wonderful, wonderful moist cake. I reduced the sugar to only 1 cup, since I used a very sweet frosting; I also (as suggested in other reviews), increased the milk by 1/2 a cup (for a total of 1 1/2 cup of milk). This is a keeper. I finally found a great recipe for a homemade white cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This cake is entirely too dry... Even with extra milk. one 1/2 cup extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So soft and moist. A perfect light and fluffy white cake. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I baked this cake for Easter and I used coconut milk in place of regular milk! I didn't use the almond extract because I was using the cake in place of a recipe that called for a box white cake mix. I read the reviews about adding extra milk, but I didn't because I poked holes in the three separate layers and I poured a coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture over the cake to be absorbed over 8 hours. My daughter-in-law said this was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I forgot to adjust the milk to the suggested amount of 1 1/2 cup and the cake was dry. It had flavor and it looked delicious, but it was too dry for my liking. Luckily, my homemade lemon butter cream icing saved the day. I am going to give this recipe one more chance and this time use 1 1/2 c of milk. I am also going to use 5 regular egg whites or 4 xl egg whites. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica.williams31

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States