Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2000
I have made this recipe several times, and find it necessary to add a little more milk than the 1 cup listed--the batter becomes very heavy without approx 1/2 cup extra milk to smooth it out. This is a dense, moist cake & very delicious. I have found that half the recipe makes one dozen very generous-sized cupcakes. The baking time is somewhat shorter for the cupcakes--you have to start keeping an eye on them at the 25-minute point so the tops don't burn. My daughter (6 rs old) loves it, even with the ready-in-a-can frosting from the supermarket. I have also used a home-made whipped cream type frosting with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is a gem of a recipe--I would give it 7 or 8 stars if you would let me! I followed the directions exactly and came up with a gorgeous-textured, good-tasting cake that could take a little handling as I decorated it. The old recipes with butter are absolutely the best! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
This is a good white cake recipe, but everytime I make it, it turns out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
My daugher requested a white cake for her 7th birthday. I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it!! I've never made white cake from scratch before, and it was so easy and it tasted better than some wedding cakes that I've had! I made it a double layer in round cake pans. It was topped with Barbie decorations and she was so pleased and she loved the cake as well as the whole family! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
I loved this it was light and delicious. I added mini chocolate chips for a childs birthday cake and it was a hit. Val
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This cake is delicious. I made it for my son's graduation and everyone loved it. It takes a little more time to make because of having to beat the egg whites, but it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This cake was a delicious cake, it was a little bit heavy, and I had to add about 1/2 cup more milk... I recommend this cake with "French Buttercream Frosting". And a fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This receipe was easy to follow but it was a pretty dry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I found this cake recipe to be terrific. I just made it for my office for someone's birthday, and we are all eating it up as I write this review. This recipe makes a very rich, white cake with a very moist crumb. I do agree with the people who added an extra 1/2 cup of milk -- it's necessary. The batter probably would have turned out fine without it, but I thought it looked a lot better with the extra milk. Another suggestion I would make is to flip around the instruction steps in the recipe, as I did. I made the butter and flour batter first and then covered it with plastic while I whipped the egg whites into meringue. I feared that making the meringue first, as the recipe instructs, would cause it to run or weep or go flat while I was making up the other batter. Overall, I really endorse this recipe if you need a white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Not bad, but not as good as I had hoped. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States