Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Well, would not using cake flour make my cake a dull tasting disaster?Made this for a special birthday and was embarassed !! I cook and bake often but obviously not the kind of baking that I keep cake flour on hand. All ingrediants were fresh so that wasn't the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was a great cake I tried it with a pineapple filling between two layers and a white frosting. I did use 1 and 1/2 cup of milk instead of the 1 cup and it was great yes I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used the suggestion of adding extra milk but I added 1 1/4 c milk and 1/4 c sour cream. Since, I didn't have almond extract on hand I used double the vanilla. The batter was fluffy and not thin. They baked up light and fluffy with an amazing flavor. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Oh this is fantastic! I layered it with mango frosting and it was one of the most awesome cakes ever. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have baked cakes for 45 years and this is the best white cake I have ever made, by far. It was light and moist. I did follow suggestions and added 1/2 cup more milk when the batter seemed too thick to me. I frosted the cake with vanilla buttercream and received rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used this cake as the middle of a three-layer wedding cake (sandwiched with chocolate). Per other reviews, I increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, and threw in a dash more almond extract. This has a lovely silky-soft crumb, just sturdy enough to hold its own against a denser chocolate cake, and froze/defrosted beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
AMAZING! This is also great if you need to make a fun color. I used this recipe and placed red food die in it and it turned out perfect with a bright vibrant color and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I already bake this cake and I love it , it reminds me my own wedding cake ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This turned out great - light and fluffy the way I like it. I added an extra 1/2 cup of milk as others suggested (don't see how it would have been the proper consistency otherwise) and used all vanilla and no almond since we love vanilla. I also added a tiny bit of cream of tartar when making the meringue. This will be my go-to white cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States