Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My girl and myself measured everything perfect! But, instead using a mixer like used in this recipe, we used a new food processor from kitchen-aid. There is only 2 speed options, so I started in LOW but then I just switched to HI, and it was very fast, it could be that? Perhaps, this is my second try recipe but the cake is hard, like uncooked in the middle and kind of greasy... I used a unbleached flour, I do not what it was wrong...any guess? Tks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Super yummy! I added the extra milk and replaced the vanilla with lemon juice and lemon zest. Topped with berries and sweetened whipped cream this was a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
s wonderful and light cake great with fresh.strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Pryor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added an extra 1/2 cup of milk like others recommended, and the cake is nice and moist. It's very easy to make and is sure to be a pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Decided on this recipe out of many for my son's birthday cake. Only substitutions were 2 tsps vanilla, thereby omitting almond, and upping milk to 1 1/2 cups. I followed"bakers rules" and folded meringue in. I had a blast putting this together and got rave reviews! This is a definite add to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I was successfully able to triple this recipe for a larger sheet cake. :) It worked out great. :) I used it to make a 16x16x2 sheet cake. All I did was triple all the ingredients :) I rewrote the recipe with the amount of each ingredient adjusted. In addition, I made some notes to help while making this AWESOME CAKE. I have two Kenmore mixing bowls. Use the smaller Kenmore mixer bowl to make the meringue and use my whip attachment . Note to self, takes a least ten minutes or more to get a soft peak to meringue . Use the larger Kenmore mixer bowl for creaming butter and than adding the white sugar. My dry ingredients and milk will be added to this bowl. Combine my dry ingredients in a regular large mixing bowl. When adding meringue fold into cake mixture a little before turning on mixer. I added the meringue in portions. :) This prevented the batter from over flowing out of the Kenmore larger mixing bowl. :) Will definitely be using again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this recipe to the T and it baked well, BUT it was too much work for a cake that tastes like it came out of a box. It was also way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
too sweet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Cesar Rios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luftherz
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I read the reviews and also added the extra 1/2 cup of whole milk, and I have to admit this white cake recipe is really great! The texture is fairly unique; like a mix between angel food cake and traditional white cake, but it's a happy medium. Holds its shape very well and easy to cut into layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luftherz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States