Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Success! My only ingredient change was to use just vanilla flavoring--personal preference. All amounts (including the milk) were kept exactly the same. I did change the order of how I prepared the contents by beating the egg whites just before I folded them into the batter. Everything was at room temperature. The texture and flavor were perfect, light, moist, and not too sweet. However, I could see that any technical deviations, e.g. not sifting the flour sufficiently, not measuring exactly, or stirring/beating in the egg whites could produce less than satisfactory results. Happy to find a recipe that really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This had a really good flavor, but my cake turned out a bit dry and denser rather than light and fluffy. I am not sure what I did wrong, but I will try again perhaps with some recommendations from reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It absolutely loved it! It tasted amazing, and as a beginning baker, my aunt and i had a fun time baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great recipe thank you for sharing..I did like others and added the extra 1/2 cup of milk and instead of the 1 teaspoon of almond extract I used 1/2 teaspoon and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I also mixed the ingredients first before making the meringue. Fabulous recipe will definitely be my go to recipe for white cake...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I can't find any cake flour by my area. I live in New York and I wanted to ask if I can use a cake flour substitute? This cake looks so delicious and I really want to make it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Next time I will definitely cut back on sugar, though. This was too sweet for our taste. The rest was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for white cake. Moist and delicious! My 16 year old son's favorite. He asks for it every year for his birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This might be the best cake I've ever made! I forgot to add the extra 1/2 cup of milk which I will do the next time and because I use almond baking emulsion, 1 tsp was a little much but those are both on me so no stars taken away. I made this as 2-nine inch cakes but omitted frosting and took one of the layers to my parents. It was evening snack time when I got there so they cut into immediately and each had more than one piece because they thought it was so yummy. While the steps are significant, they are critical and well worth the effort. I highly recommend this recipe and will use it from now on when I am asked for white cupcakes (my side job).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This cake turned out beautifully and delicious! I followed the recipe except for the following: I added an extra 1/2 cup of whole milk as suggested by other reviewers, and I made the merengue as my last step and then folded it into the batter. After reading reviews for a different white cake recipe, I beat the butter and sugar on high for about 8 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl a few times - I think this was a key step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
MMMMMM. I've made this recipe lots of times, yum yum YUM! I don't have almond extract, but it still works out fine, with marshmallow frosting or buttercream frosting or whatever. It is the answer to my endless cake recipe search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layna Sutton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States