Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was soooo good! I've never been a fan of "Plain Old White" cake and finally figured out it was because I have never had a really good one. This was excellent Carol! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Deeelish!!! Perfect texture. I made this 2x already, once with almond extract and once without. Both were good, but the almond flavor is very prominent. I used this cake to make tres leches cake and it was completely devoured by my family. I am a professional baker and this recipe is A+ in my book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Canepa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A delicious and delicate cake. I added 1/2tsp of lemon extract instead of the almond. I also added some lemon zest to the batter. It was light, moist and by far the best "white" cake I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
In search of a good white cake recipie, this one sounded excellent and after reading all the reviews i thought it would be a winner. WOW was i ever wrong. It is very heavy which wouldnt of been a problem had the flavor been good. I followed directions to a tee, as well as the extra 1/2cup of milk as suggested. I loaded it up with Wiltons fluffy boiled icing and that did not even help it. I would of been better off with a box mix. I deffinatly would NOT reccomend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I haven't even finished making all the cupcakes from this recipe and I LOVE it! Light, fluffy, moist, AMAZING!!!! So far I've made 24 cupcakes and I still have more batter. I will frost these with lemon cream cheese frosting. I cannot wait for the finished product! Like other reviewers, I added 1/2 c milk and saved making the meringue for last and folded it in rather than beat it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is the best white cake recipe that I have used. I halved it and it still is soft and fluffy as the cloud...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This cake was okay, it was a little bland and not quite as fluffy as I had hoped. Next time I'll try adding some sugar to the whites to keep them fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
THE CAKE IS YELLOW NOT WHITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Used extra 1/2 cup milk and fold meringue into the batter. It's moist, light and fluffy. Thank you Carol for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I did take the advice of others and add 1/2 cup more milk than called for. I also made the flour, butter, and milk batter before mixing my meringue and FOLDING, not beating, it in, until it was just combined. The only thing I will do differently next time I make it is add less almond extract, as I found the flavor slightly overpowering, but this is just a personal preference. This was the softest, moistest homemade cake I have ever made, and believe me, I've made a lot. Definitely try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalb88

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States