Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
THE CAKE IS YELLOW NOT WHITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Used extra 1/2 cup milk and fold meringue into the batter. It's moist, light and fluffy. Thank you Carol for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I did take the advice of others and add 1/2 cup more milk than called for. I also made the flour, butter, and milk batter before mixing my meringue and FOLDING, not beating, it in, until it was just combined. The only thing I will do differently next time I make it is add less almond extract, as I found the flavor slightly overpowering, but this is just a personal preference. This was the softest, moistest homemade cake I have ever made, and believe me, I've made a lot. Definitely try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalb88

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
While this cake is very moist (like other reviewers, I also added an extra 1/2 cup of milk and extra vanilla) and has excellent texture (very light and soft, not too spongy), the flavor is off. It tastes like a sugar cookie that has been rolled out in a little too much flour. You definitely need to modify the directions: cream butter and 1 c. sugar; alternate adding dry ingredients and milk (you don't need to BEAT each time until smooth, just mix on low speed--if you overmix, the gluten will overdevelop and you will get holes and tunneling in your cake); add flavoring if you did not add it with the milk. Now you should beat the whites and remaining sugar to soft peaks, then FOLD in gently (I usually add my beaten egg whites in 1/3's--a trick I learned in culinary school). I could not in good conscience give this recipe any better rating since the directions are wrong, I had to add more milk and vanilla than the recipe called for and the flavor was lacking to my taste (if you like cake that tastes like a sugar cookie--this is for you).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I had a pot-luck wedding and my contribution was this cake, as my wedding cake. I am so amazed with how perfectly it comes out every time, sweet and fluffy, it was delicious and got raves reviews all around. I made it filled with a cream and frosted with vanilla butter cream. I'll be making it every year on my anniversary, and I so look forward to it! It is truly a heavenly cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great recipe! I also added a tad more milk, but it would probably be just as good as originally posted. I will be making this again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
A very light and moist cake, one of the best from scratch I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyrenee726

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was sooooooooo fluffy and delicious!!!! This is soo my new fave recipe for vanilla cake!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I loved this recipe. I had another recipe that had something off with the sugar because the tops kept overcooking, but this recipe turned out perfect. Definitely use the extra 1/2 cup of milk, it needs it. And folding in the egg whites works well. One thing I learned was not to use egg whites from a carton, they really don't whip as well, so the genuine egg whites are best. I will use one tip I read today about doubling the vanilla (I too left out the almond as not everyone cares for that flavor). I also didn't sift (I didn't have a sifter, I've recently bought a new one). However I did kind of cut the dry ingredients with a knife for a few minutes and it seemed to turn out just fine, though I'm sure sifting will make it lighter. I bought an 8 cup sifter for double batches. I found this a very easy cake to make, and will never use a boxed cake again. The only thing I'm on the hunt for now is a substitution for some of the butter to make it a tiny bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
It is still in the oven, but I wondered about whether that was too much batter for 2 9" pans...Yup! Smells good, batter tasted excellent. I suspect it will be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States