Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This resembled corn bread. Won't be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe was really good. I also added an extra half cup of milk and my cupcakes turned out great. I also did a chocolate variation. I added 1/3 cup of cocoa and omitted the almond extract. I probably should have added just a bit more milk but they were still good and not overly sweet. I tried one without icing and was worried that they would not be sweet enough but once i added chocolate buttercream they were just sweet enough. Good recipe. I will definitely use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
What a wonderful white cake recipe! As many reviewers suggested, I used the extra 1/2 cup of milk, folded in the meringue at the end, and used all vanilla extract. Otherwise, I did everything else according to the recipe, including all the sifting. Result was sheer perfection. I will never buy a boxed white cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Yeah! This is heaven. I follow the reviews and this was perfect. Made today for my daughter's birthday (half the proportions) and this cake was perfectly moist. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great!!!!!! and Beyond that.. This cake barely made it to get frosted I wanted to eat the entire thing and I'm not a fan of cake too much. The secret to make this cake is to follow the instructions. Be sure to use sifted cake flour, and sift the ingredients again. Make sure to beat the egg whites into a meringue. The only thing I did do was add a bit of extra milk in the last step due to the fact my mix seemed on the dry side. My suggestion is to add a bit of extra milk until the batter seems about right, but the storing the cake tightly covered will keep it moist. Two days later this cake kept well tightly sealed and refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used this for cupcakes as I was running out of time to find a recipe. Big mistake. The flavor was lovely but the cakes were far too dense and dry. I'm not sure how this would fair as an entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by victorian_soul
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my birthday, and I couldn't be more pleased. I had to use imitation flavorings, due to a corn allergy, and doubled the vanilla. I used a chocolate cream cheese frosting. I will definitely use this cake recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victorian_soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was a very moist and tasty cake. It took a few wxtra steps to make but it was worth it. My husband and preschooler loved it. The flavor reminded me of an angel food cake. I made it exactly as written. For those using extra milk, you may want to sitf the flour and then measure. I will make again. But I mau make with something other then almond extract as i am not a huge fan of almond extract...Maybe rum?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
moist, yummy, good recipe for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Swords
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very excellent cake! The first homemade cake I have ever tried making. I used the exta 1/2 cup of milk as others suggested. Very excellent taste, not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Swords

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States