Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have made this cake 5 or 6 times now, and I can not believe I haven't reviewed it yet...It does take some work, but it never fails...be sure to sift your flour before you measure it...it is the most versatile, flavorful white cake...100X better than a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I forgot to add the extra 1/2 c milk like so many reviewers suggested. I regret that, as the cake is very dense and a bit crumbly without it. I loved the flavor and it was definitely at hit at the party. I just feel like a little extra moisture would have made it out of this world. I did whip the eggs as the final step and folded them into the batter as opposed to beating them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made this as a graduation cake!! It was awesome, and not a crumb was left. I doubled the recipe, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Tastes just like a fluffy sugar cookie. The recipe gives the impression to stir the batter a lot, don't. Make sure not to over stir. Also, add a little more milk because it's too thick. Turned out great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
The cake has a nice delicate flavor. I needed a recipe for leftover egg whites and this is a good one. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was soooo good! I've never been a fan of "Plain Old White" cake and finally figured out it was because I have never had a really good one. This was excellent Carol! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Deeelish!!! Perfect texture. I made this 2x already, once with almond extract and once without. Both were good, but the almond flavor is very prominent. I used this cake to make tres leches cake and it was completely devoured by my family. I am a professional baker and this recipe is A+ in my book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A delicious and delicate cake. I added 1/2tsp of lemon extract instead of the almond. I also added some lemon zest to the batter. It was light, moist and by far the best "white" cake I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
In search of a good white cake recipie, this one sounded excellent and after reading all the reviews i thought it would be a winner. WOW was i ever wrong. It is very heavy which wouldnt of been a problem had the flavor been good. I followed directions to a tee, as well as the extra 1/2cup of milk as suggested. I loaded it up with Wiltons fluffy boiled icing and that did not even help it. I would of been better off with a box mix. I deffinatly would NOT reccomend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I haven't even finished making all the cupcakes from this recipe and I LOVE it! Light, fluffy, moist, AMAZING!!!! So far I've made 24 cupcakes and I still have more batter. I will frost these with lemon cream cheese frosting. I cannot wait for the finished product! Like other reviewers, I added 1/2 c milk and saved making the meringue for last and folded it in rather than beat it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States