Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Followed others suggestions to add extra milk and sift sift sift. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this recipe last week and it turned out great. The cake had good flavor and was moist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This Cake Is delicous! I am only 11 and have lots of experince with lots of different cake and I made this for a funeral and everybody went nuts over how good it was, how moist and etc.! TRY THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I didn't much care for this recipe, the cake came out dry and crumbly. Had a nice flavor and appearance though, and came out of the pans nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this just as directed and it was very good. My family raved about it! My niece had a piece of this cake and went on and on about how good it was. She comes from a family of chefs and bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Im makin it right now and i have to say this is the most confusing recepie i have ever read it said add cream then add merangue isnt that the same thing? This is super hard to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this cake as written and it was tasty and dense on the day I made it. I used a whipped cream frosting and layered in fresh strawberries. We enjoyed it. I could see though, how it could have been better with more milk and the folding in of eggwhites approach. The second day the cake was DRY and super dense, almost gummy. I think I will try the recipe again ( next time I make a cake) with the modifications cited in so many of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsNueckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe and i did not really like it very much......its very heavy. I also thought i would try it with rice flour it was better but still very condensed cake,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berrimp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spice_of_life
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Wow - how fortunate that Carol decided to share her recipe. I'm not easy to please, so I took a chance and made the original recipe - NO adjustments. I highly recommend you do the same in this case. I followed the recipe exactly and it truly is heavenly. The flavor is the shining star of this recipe - spectacular. The other thing to love is it is somewhat dense AND very moist. I can see it would be great for layered cakes, specialty cakes, whatever. The batter is thick - don't freak out. It will be divine if you follow the recipe properly. I made it in a bunt pan, so naturally my cake required more bake time. Use a toothpick to test it before you take it out. I also recommend watching the video that allrecipes.com made for this recipe. I served mine with "chocolate ganache" (by INGRIDEVOGEL), strawberries, blueberries, and whipped cream. Update: I made this twice today (cupcakes then layer cake) and decided to add 1/2 cup of extra milk to see what other's reviews were talking about. The extra milk throws off the balance of flavor and texture in the wrong direction. If it's not broken, folks, don't fix it. Unless a boxed cake mix texture is what you are aiming for. Take my advice - follow the original in this case. You'll be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The cake was very dense - very much like a pound cake. It had a slight egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeoITMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States