Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was a good cake. I did make as written, adding strawberries at the end. It did find that it was a thick batter - but it was not dense. I would make this again. It was not overly sweet, which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is a very light, fluffy, and delicious cake! I used half the recipe to make 12 good-sized cupcakes and frosted them with the "white frosting" recipe on this site. Both the frosting and the cake are amazing, and together they taste like a lil slice of heaven. I will DEFINITELY be using this recipe to make a strawberry bar cake for Mother's Day for my mom. Yum! ***CHANGES I MADE*** I added 1/4 cup extra milk(add 1/2 if your using original recipe amount) and used all purpose flour since i don't have cake flour. Next time, i will substitute the tsp of almond extract for an extra tsp of vanilla, since i'm not really a fan of almond flavoured cake. Thank you for this amazing recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this is great to decorate and use as a base for wedding/birthday cakes. I did fold the egg whites very delicately, and I added the extra 1/2 cup of milk. It worked beautifully: used white chocolate creme patissiere to fill it, wetting the 2 layers generously before with sour cherry juice, which contrasted beautifully with the cloying sweetness of the white choc. Also, the juice tended to give a soft pinkish color to the cake, which is the desired effect, as the party was for my little girl. So versatile, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this cake exactly as written, no extra milk, no changes. It is so delicious and moist, probably the best white cake I have ever tasted. It's going into my favorites book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used this recipe for my son's first birthday cake I threw in some fresh raspberries, it tasted great. BUT...the recipe did turn out allot heaver then I was expecting. I did a bubble batch and it made an 8 inch and a 6 inch bubble layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skippy Aveo
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Great recipe. It makes a lovely cake. Not being a fan of almond extract I still enjoyed it, but the family LOVES it and insists I make it again [and again, and again, and again. . .]. It has a great crumb and I didn't find it dense at all. The trick is to make sure your eggs whites peak and that they are folded in, so be gentle. If you are unsure of how your egg whites should look or how to fold them in the video is a great reference. I made it as written and with an additional 1/2 cup of milk. The batter is a bit thicker without the added milk, but I could barely tell the difference in the end results. Both were wonderful. It's a keeper. I am anxious to replace the almond with other extracts, such as lemon or orange, and add some zest. I am sure it will be a great base recipe to play around with and make your own. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skippy Aveo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I received mixed reviews on this recipe. Some people loved it and said it was the best they ever had and the other half thought it was just 'good'. I think the meringue really brings out a sweet almond flavor. I just wish it was a little lighter but I may have over beat it. I was looking for a very light and simple white cake recipe, although this was good, it wasn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made cupcakes which everyone loved!!!!! I added 1/2 cup of milk as suggested. I also substituted the teaspoon of almond extract for another teaspoon of vanilla, thereby using a total of 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marykevinaz
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This cake is fantastic. The flavor and texture are perfect. This cake will seem dry if it is cold. Bring it to room temperature for at minimum of 30-35 minutes before serving and it is perfect. Also, make sure the butter, eggs and milk are all room temperature before using. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States