Heavenly Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I really like this recipe and have made it several times. I use the leftover juices as soup base for lamb stew (strain, degrease, and freeze) My only problem is consistently finding lamb shanks in my area. I buy a whole lamb every year and it only comes with four. (too bad they're not more like centipedes--creepy but delicious) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was only ok. I found the gravy bitter. I added a little sugar which helped, but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is the second time I have used this recipe and the family love it.. It is simple to make and tastes devine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
**** This is an excellent recipe. I served it with mashed potatoes and the romaine-cauliflower salad. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is delicious! So good, we had to make it again this week. We're lucky to have found a butcher that sells lamb shanks at a great price. Can't decide which I like more - with or without the leaks. Either way - we recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HP_imagines

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used a slow cooker- came out wonderfully, put the leeks in at the end after sauteeing them with garlic. The key is picking the right cut of meat- the calf and the thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Lacks flavour and sauce is not useable direct from the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'm sorry to say that this one fell a little short for my husband and me. I expected there to be so much more flavor than there was. Yes, the meat was very tender, but I would have liked a little bit of acidity for more depth of flavor, such as balsamic vinegar. If I try this one again, I will have to tweek it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely and it came out so, so yummy. My Easter guests raved about it. I added a few tweaks of my own though. First off, When I floured and seared the meat, I added some ground coriander and freshly ground fennel seed to the flour, salt and pepper mix. I also added a large can of organic diced tomatoes to the stewing liquids. Finally, I agree with one reviewer who said it would be too greasy, so I degreased the gravy at the end by removing the cooked meat to a dish, skimmed the top couple inches of the roasting liquid into a foil bread pan, and stuck it in the freezer for about 20 minutes while I mashed the potatoes and cooked the green beans. Once the fat hardened, I just scraped it away from the juices underneath. (I'm glad I did because it was about a cup of fat! ) Then I added the juices back to the pot on the stove top, simmering for a few minutes to heat it back up and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wish I could give this more stars. Absolutely delicious! Didn't change anything. Even my husband who doesn't eat lamb liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States