Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my son's 13 birthday party. My mom is the best hot dog chili maker all she had to say about this is that this was the best she had ever had! Coming from my mom that is wonderful. She is picky about everything she eats. Thanks for such a great recipe. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mofks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This chili recipe is so good. I omited the red pepper flakes and added onions and garlic powder. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Reminds me of B&L, Lupo's, Yann's, T&L hotdogs back home in Fairmont, WV! The best hotdogs anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I served this for my daughters 9th birthday party. A lot of kids ate it and the parents went WILD over it. Two people asked me for the recipe. A few people just scooped it with potato chips and one just ate a sauce dog (sauce on a bun). I doubled the liquid ( it takes a while to cook down but I liked it with more sauce).I used chicken broth instead of water and didn't use any hot pepper. I will make a big batch and freeze in smaller containers so we can always have it on hand. Good Good Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A keeper! Really good as written, but we like stuff really spicy so I made the following changes & additions: increase ketchup from 1/3c. to 1/2c., increase chili powder from 1T. to 1/3c., add 2T. fresh minced garlic, add 1T. garlic powder, add 1T. italian seasoning, and add 1t. ground red pepper. There was plenty to go around and more for freezing. Freezing didn't hurt the flavor profile or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
this is so much easier than browning the meat. i just throw it in a dutch oven and let it cook, stirring occasionally. i add some cayenne pepper for a kick and delete the white sugar. i think a small squirt of french's yellow mustard is a must. and you have to have cole slaw on the dog for an authentic west virginia hot dog. for the anatomy of a west virginia hot dog check out...wvhotdogs.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Loved this! I decided to make this at the last minute and the only burger I had were frozen patties. Thawed and cooked them in the water, then tossed the rather chunky burger into my food processor, great texture. Anyway I added Cumin after reading another reviewers suggestion and this stuff is fantastic! It's a keeper, I won't be trying any other hot dog sauce recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Without a doubt the best hotdog sauce I have ever tasted. Just the right amount of spice and even a little kick with the chili flakes. Does make alot of sauce but freezes easily for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. I ended up adding more of the tomato sauce. It just did not look like there was much in it,I thought it needed to be more "red" looking!! I think I added 1 cup. I could eat it with a spoon. Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
super easy and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States