Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my son's 13 birthday party. My mom is the best hot dog chili maker all she had to say about this is that this was the best she had ever had! Coming from my mom that is wonderful. She is picky about everything she eats. Thanks for such a great recipe. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I added some stuff to it. I sauted med onion and sm green pepper, then added 1 1/2 tbs cumin, 1 clove garlic, 1/2 tbs spanish paprika. Over all, with everything I added to it, made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I made this recipe this morning for a chili dog dinner tonight. I thought it was a little bland, I used some leftover chicken stock (beef would have worked great too)instead of water, and also added several Tablespoons of tomato paste. I browned the meat along with a 1/2 chopped large onion and 1/2 green pepper, added it along with the spices and other ingredients and blended it using the pulse method on my blender several times to chop everything up smaller but not to liquidify it. I also added several Tablespoons of paprika to perk it up-This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Reminds me of B&L, Lupo's, Yann's, T&L hotdogs back home in Fairmont, WV! The best hotdogs anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was very good, I made mine in the crockpot and added dehydrated onion. I cooked it on high about 4 hours stirring occasionally. Everyone loved it! This is a keeper.Note: When cooking in crockpot use very lean beef otherwise it will be quite greasy, or you will just have to skim the fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The cooking technique makes this chili the PERFECT consistency! It would also work well for preparing taco filling. I strongly recommend the addition of 2 T. cumin to give it real chili flavor. 1 T. each of onion and garlic powder are also nice additions. Thanks for the super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My kids wanted hot dogs after school so I made two of the hot dog sauce recipes from the site to try out. It was decided that we liked the taste of this sauce best. The chili powder and a "pinch" of cayenne really add a nice flavor. This also takes great on nachos with melted shredded cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
this is so much easier than browning the meat. i just throw it in a dutch oven and let it cook, stirring occasionally. i add some cayenne pepper for a kick and delete the white sugar. i think a small squirt of french's yellow mustard is a must. and you have to have cole slaw on the dog for an authentic west virginia hot dog. for the anatomy of a west virginia hot dog check out...wvhotdogs.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
When I lived in the midwest I loved having a coney dog from Dog 'n Suds. They don't exist in my hometown anymore and I've been searching for a recipe that is close to their sauce taste. This was a winner. Not exactly but pretty close. We enjoyed our treat of coney's with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I liked this recipe better than any I have tried. I would like to find something with a little more kick but love the consistency of this sauce, not to thick or thin. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States