Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I made this recipe this morning for a chili dog dinner tonight. I thought it was a little bland, I used some leftover chicken stock (beef would have worked great too)instead of water, and also added several Tablespoons of tomato paste. I browned the meat along with a 1/2 chopped large onion and 1/2 green pepper, added it along with the spices and other ingredients and blended it using the pulse method on my blender several times to chop everything up smaller but not to liquidify it. I also added several Tablespoons of paprika to perk it up-This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANCHIP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I added some stuff to it. I sauted med onion and sm green pepper, then added 1 1/2 tbs cumin, 1 clove garlic, 1/2 tbs spanish paprika. Over all, with everything I added to it, made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I liked this recipe better than any I have tried. I would like to find something with a little more kick but love the consistency of this sauce, not to thick or thin. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Husband loved this more than I did. I added a wee bit of garlic powder. With some cheese, diced onion, and yellow mustard, this made a pretty substantial hot dog. Would be nice with a slice of bacon too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
this is so much easier than browning the meat. i just throw it in a dutch oven and let it cook, stirring occasionally. i add some cayenne pepper for a kick and delete the white sugar. i think a small squirt of french's yellow mustard is a must. and you have to have cole slaw on the dog for an authentic west virginia hot dog. for the anatomy of a west virginia hot dog check out...wvhotdogs.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
We rented a hot dog cart for our daughter's graduation party and this recipe was a great topping for our dogs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my son's 13 birthday party. My mom is the best hot dog chili maker all she had to say about this is that this was the best she had ever had! Coming from my mom that is wonderful. She is picky about everything she eats. Thanks for such a great recipe. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I added a LOT of spices to make this tasty, but it in the end it was just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Reminds me of B&L, Lupo's, Yann's, T&L hotdogs back home in Fairmont, WV! The best hotdogs anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
When I lived in the midwest I loved having a coney dog from Dog 'n Suds. They don't exist in my hometown anymore and I've been searching for a recipe that is close to their sauce taste. This was a winner. Not exactly but pretty close. We enjoyed our treat of coney's with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States