Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My family loved it! We'll definitely have this a few times on "football Sundays" this year. I did add some minced onion and garlic, just because I had some around. Great flavor and excellent consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was my first attempt at making chili sauce for hot dogs, so I followed the instructions exactly. This was perfect, and everybody wanted more. I wouldn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Other than cutting the recipe in half, I followed the directions to the letter. I found that the flavors combined well. My only problem with it, is very minor. I think that the amount of sugar was still a tad to much. My wife could not taste the sweetness in the sauce but I could and to me it was just a tad to sweet. I am not a fan of sweet and savory in the same dish which is probably why I could really taste so much of the sweetness. Other that that, I could not in good faith give this less than 4 stars but because I know its my own issue with sweet and savory dishes that I still give this a 5 star rating! It does require some sugar but that will be for me to experiment with for my taste! Great job on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Really nice texture to it. I made exactly as is, but I didn't put enough crushed red pepper in it. I would probably use about a tsp. When I make it again I'm going to add a can of green chillies to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gyqnbc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Used it today as part of my Independence Party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HiTekRedNek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
i agree with how you make the chili by not browning the meat. too many big chunks of meat. i too am from WV and have had many good hot dogs there. people in the north or anywhere else does not know what a good WV hotdog is. Don't forget the cole slaw, made very simply, mayo, vinegar & sugar. Great on BBQ sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
exactly what I was looking for - Unfortunately, I ran out of tomato sauce in the pantry, so I used a little condensed tomato soup and eliminated the sugar - just as good I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
we werent fans of this. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did cook the ground beef and let simmer as stated. After that, it wasn't the consistency that I wanted so I put it through my mini-blender. After I made hot dog chili baby food, I put it in my small slow cooker until husband came home. Used this with "Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I" to make West Virginia Dogs. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This recipe is good. Thought I used tomato sauce, but grabbed my spaghetti sauce instead and it turned out just fine.Also added cumin and added crushed red pepper, for a hotter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States