Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was my first attempt at making chili sauce for hot dogs, so I followed the instructions exactly. This was perfect, and everybody wanted more. I wouldn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Other than cutting the recipe in half, I followed the directions to the letter. I found that the flavors combined well. My only problem with it, is very minor. I think that the amount of sugar was still a tad to much. My wife could not taste the sweetness in the sauce but I could and to me it was just a tad to sweet. I am not a fan of sweet and savory in the same dish which is probably why I could really taste so much of the sweetness. Other that that, I could not in good faith give this less than 4 stars but because I know its my own issue with sweet and savory dishes that I still give this a 5 star rating! It does require some sugar but that will be for me to experiment with for my taste! Great job on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Really nice texture to it. I made exactly as is, but I didn't put enough crushed red pepper in it. I would probably use about a tsp. When I make it again I'm going to add a can of green chillies to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gyqnbc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Used it today as part of my Independence Party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HiTekRedNek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
i agree with how you make the chili by not browning the meat. too many big chunks of meat. i too am from WV and have had many good hot dogs there. people in the north or anywhere else does not know what a good WV hotdog is. Don't forget the cole slaw, made very simply, mayo, vinegar & sugar. Great on BBQ sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
exactly what I was looking for - Unfortunately, I ran out of tomato sauce in the pantry, so I used a little condensed tomato soup and eliminated the sugar - just as good I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
we werent fans of this. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did cook the ground beef and let simmer as stated. After that, it wasn't the consistency that I wanted so I put it through my mini-blender. After I made hot dog chili baby food, I put it in my small slow cooker until husband came home. Used this with "Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I" to make West Virginia Dogs. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This recipe is good. Thought I used tomato sauce, but grabbed my spaghetti sauce instead and it turned out just fine.Also added cumin and added crushed red pepper, for a hotter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Very good. Add 1 can tomato paste and 1 tsp of salt in the last 30 minutes to give it a slightly more tomato taste. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States