Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have tried many of the recipes out there and have enjoyed most of them. This recipe is however my hands down favorite. Remember this freezes well. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was wonderful chili for my hot dog and I am very picky about my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good, thank you for the recipe. I was tired of using regular chili on hot dogs and wanted something different. This was it. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
A very tasty hot dog sauce. I use about 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and top mine with some caramelized onions. It's cool to see so many fellow West Virginians here. Go 'Eers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe. Tried and true. Defnitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Amazing! I am from WV, and grew up with hot dogs with chili and slaw. Unfortunately, my mom passed away before I could write down how she made her hot dog chili. This comes really close in flavor. The one thing I do remember is that she put a little mustard in the sauce, so I did this too. Again, it is very close to how I remember my mom's chili. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A good base recipe, you'll need to adjust the sweetness and heat to your personal taste. It was a bit too sweet for our taste and didn't have quite enough kick. I ended up adding more chili powder, extra red pepper flakes and some tomato sauce to cut the sweetness. I also browned the meat and drained away the fat before adding the water. It was very meaty, which my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fantastic! Thanks so much! Made as directed just added 1 tbs onion powder, 1 tbs garlic powder, and 1 tbs cumin as some other reviewers. First time every making hot dog sauce and now I will always make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Just like I remember! My mom's side of the family is from WV and I stayed with my grandparents every summer for 14 years. This is exactly like the "Sauce Dogs" we ordered then. I'm so glad I found this and was able to share it with my husband and kids. Everyone really enjoyed it once I explained that it isn't a chili at all. It is a sauce. And it's perfect. Thanks for sharing and bringing back the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This hot dog sauce is great! As per other reviews I halved the recipe. I also added 1 Tbs. cumin, 1 tsp. onion powder and 1 tsp. garlic powder. I'm glad I found a great sauce recipe - just in time for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States