Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is very good, the only sauce I ever use on hot dogs. I have tweaked it some over time to give it a little more kick, although it is still very good, 5 star rating without the tweaks. I use beef broth instead of water. I also shake in some paprika and onion powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Served this to neighbors at a bbq and everyone enjoyed it, including my picky husband! I doubled both the tomato sauce and chili powder. I also used some stock rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have tried many of the recipes out there and have enjoyed most of them. This recipe is however my hands down favorite. Remember this freezes well. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was wonderful chili for my hot dog and I am very picky about my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good, thank you for the recipe. I was tired of using regular chili on hot dogs and wanted something different. This was it. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
A very tasty hot dog sauce. I use about 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and top mine with some caramelized onions. It's cool to see so many fellow West Virginians here. Go 'Eers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe. Tried and true. Defnitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Amazing! I am from WV, and grew up with hot dogs with chili and slaw. Unfortunately, my mom passed away before I could write down how she made her hot dog chili. This comes really close in flavor. The one thing I do remember is that she put a little mustard in the sauce, so I did this too. Again, it is very close to how I remember my mom's chili. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A good base recipe, you'll need to adjust the sweetness and heat to your personal taste. It was a bit too sweet for our taste and didn't have quite enough kick. I ended up adding more chili powder, extra red pepper flakes and some tomato sauce to cut the sweetness. I also browned the meat and drained away the fat before adding the water. It was very meaty, which my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Fantastic! Thanks so much! Made as directed just added 1 tbs onion powder, 1 tbs garlic powder, and 1 tbs cumin as some other reviewers. First time every making hot dog sauce and now I will always make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States