Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is sooo yummy!! Can be adjusted to you tastes. I cooked then added to slow cooker to keep warm. I couldnt stop eating with tortilla chips. Its addicting. Leftovers the next day for nachos are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Ok, my favorite meal is a good hotdog, this chili recipe rocks!!! I did use the beef stock and canned tomatoes! incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This wasn't bad but wasn't anything exceptional either. Too sweet for our family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
it was really good. we put fritos and cheese on our dogs. kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Made a few hours before a football party and kept warm in crockpot. Intended it to be for chilidogs but a lot of people ate it plain too. No complaints, no leftovers. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I had never made chili without beans but since I needed to make it for a school function, this recipe seemed the best. The method was claimed by the reviewers as the best so this one is the one I chose. All the comments from parents and students was that it was so.oo..ooo good! I did follow some reviewer recommedations like I added cumin and onion powder. I did not buy the more expensive lean ground beef but I did this. I drained the browned meat and while adding the rest of the ingredients I put the fat/broth mixture into a cup and cooled it in the freezer. Once it cooled, it was easy to throw away the fat and I re-added the broth to the chili. I did have to uncover and keep simmering for an extra half an hour.Thanks for the recipe and thanks for all the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was excellent...exactly what I wanted...a simple Hot Dog Chili Sauce. Only a few modifications due to taste: no sugar, and addition of finely diced onion to brown with beef. also a few dashes of mustard and hot sauce. I "made up" each hot dog in advance. bun, wiener, heavenly sauce, mustard - wrapped in wax paper. when ready to eat, we just nuked them for a bit. SO GOOD...soft buns and gooey, but not too messy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe is amost identical to my grandmother's (from WV)! I make it often. Her recipe didn't include the tomatoe sauce but did include 1T of yellow mustard. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend for the first time and he loved it...Thank you so much I will never go back to chili in a can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is very good, the only sauce I ever use on hot dogs. I have tweaked it some over time to give it a little more kick, although it is still very good, 5 star rating without the tweaks. I use beef broth instead of water. I also shake in some paprika and onion powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States