Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Ok, my favorite meal is a good hotdog, this chili recipe rocks!!! I did use the beef stock and canned tomatoes! incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This wasn't bad but wasn't anything exceptional either. Too sweet for our family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
it was really good. we put fritos and cheese on our dogs. kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Made a few hours before a football party and kept warm in crockpot. Intended it to be for chilidogs but a lot of people ate it plain too. No complaints, no leftovers. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I had never made chili without beans but since I needed to make it for a school function, this recipe seemed the best. The method was claimed by the reviewers as the best so this one is the one I chose. All the comments from parents and students was that it was so.oo..ooo good! I did follow some reviewer recommedations like I added cumin and onion powder. I did not buy the more expensive lean ground beef but I did this. I drained the browned meat and while adding the rest of the ingredients I put the fat/broth mixture into a cup and cooled it in the freezer. Once it cooled, it was easy to throw away the fat and I re-added the broth to the chili. I did have to uncover and keep simmering for an extra half an hour.Thanks for the recipe and thanks for all the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was excellent...exactly what I wanted...a simple Hot Dog Chili Sauce. Only a few modifications due to taste: no sugar, and addition of finely diced onion to brown with beef. also a few dashes of mustard and hot sauce. I "made up" each hot dog in advance. bun, wiener, heavenly sauce, mustard - wrapped in wax paper. when ready to eat, we just nuked them for a bit. SO GOOD...soft buns and gooey, but not too messy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe is amost identical to my grandmother's (from WV)! I make it often. Her recipe didn't include the tomatoe sauce but did include 1T of yellow mustard. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend for the first time and he loved it...Thank you so much I will never go back to chili in a can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is very good, the only sauce I ever use on hot dogs. I have tweaked it some over time to give it a little more kick, although it is still very good, 5 star rating without the tweaks. I use beef broth instead of water. I also shake in some paprika and onion powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Served this to neighbors at a bbq and everyone enjoyed it, including my picky husband! I doubled both the tomato sauce and chili powder. I also used some stock rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States