Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very good recipie...I live in WV and happened across this looking for a good chili recipie! I cooked the meat and then put it in a blender to make it very, very finely chopped and it was a great texture! I have served it at 2 cookouts and gotten rave reviews both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I also thought it was a really good base. Was pleased with the texture of the meat, but needed more spice. Added some tomato paste, chipotle chile powder, cumin, finely chopped onion, garlic powder, and chipotle tabasco. Spice it up to your preference, but my family likes sauces with a "kick", even my 8 yr old. Sauce received rave reviews at our barbecue with the additional spices. I found that it didn't need an hour to cook to a thick consistency...would have needed to add additional stock or water if I'd cooked it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I will definitely be making this again. I only gave this 4 stars because it is bland as is. I added paprika and cumin and kept playing around with the other ingredients listed to bring it up to a nice flavor. The recipe as is is a good base but you need to add more spices gradually as it cooks until you find the taste that suits you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Really yummy! As written the sauce was a bit bland. I added more ketchup and tomato sauce, and some paprika, onion powder, Worcestershire, and a pinch of cumin. We served these with coleslaw under the sauce. WOW! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good. Recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
tasty. makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I found this hot dog sauce to be a good base for what I wanted. I only used half the sugar, which I will completely omit next time. I also added a bit of cumin and onion powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Just because the cook's description mentions home (WV) I wanted to give it 5 starts. Just kidding but really this is good stuff, like another reviewer mentioned it a lot like Yann's in Fairmont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Staud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
10X better than canned hot dog chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was perfect consistency for hot dog chili but very bland. My husband (the chili expert) doctored it up but I don't know what he added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States