Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
If you're expecting chili, its not - but this is a really terrific hot dog sauce!!! I did saute some onion and garlic and added that - I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this today according to the recipe and it was very bland. After I tasted it, I added a few ingredients to give it the taste I had expected, based off of another recipe I looked up on the Internet today. . I added Worcestshire sauce, white vinegar, dry mustard, additional chili powder, garlic, and dehydrated onion. All of this I added a little at a time, tasting after each addition. I also browned the beef before adding anything. Sorry to give it such a low rating, but the recipe, as is, is missing something & required too much "doctoring."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAME673

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
i made this chilli for our hotdog dinner tonite...soooo good...perfect consistancy and flavor...i added a few drops of hot sauce in place of the crushed red pepper...this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccawparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was just like the hotdog sauces found in my home town and surrounding area. I added a little more red pepper and chili powder because I like it spicy. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
One of the best base recipes for hour dog chili. I put minced onions and green peppers in with ground beef while browning. Also used a lot more chili powder (not sure how much, just added until it tasted the way I wanted). Being a WV girl though I loved the final product! Paired with Grandma's Sweet Slaw found on this site it get much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Not enough sauce in this sauce as written. Had to use a whole can of tomato sauce instead of 1/2 cup and it needed more. I added probably 3 tablespoons of chili powder and 1 tsp of dried minced garlic. It was still bland but that is okay for a chili sauce. Without the extra sauce and chili powder it would be just like topping your hot dog with ground beef. I probably will not make again as it seems a waste of 2 1/2 pounds of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texaspixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The first time I made this recipe, it was dry. I reread the recipe and it never said, "brown the beef" nor "cook the beef" - it only said "crumble the beef." So I figured the raw beef simmered in the liquid. After 90 minutes, it's still raw. Going back to my original assumption of browning the beef then simmering it in the sauce, this recipe is dry and sauceless. If you like beef on your hot dog, give it a try. If you like "hot dog sauce" pass it over and save your 2.5 lbs of beef for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is what hot dog sauce is in WV. Of course there is a lot of variations, mine included onion powder, garlic powder, cumin seed and chipotle chili powder. Throw some chopped onions and some habanero cheese in the mix and you got yourself a dog with a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garrett Gartin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very good recipie...I live in WV and happened across this looking for a good chili recipie! I cooked the meat and then put it in a blender to make it very, very finely chopped and it was a great texture! I have served it at 2 cookouts and gotten rave reviews both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I also thought it was a really good base. Was pleased with the texture of the meat, but needed more spice. Added some tomato paste, chipotle chile powder, cumin, finely chopped onion, garlic powder, and chipotle tabasco. Spice it up to your preference, but my family likes sauces with a "kick", even my 8 yr old. Sauce received rave reviews at our barbecue with the additional spices. I found that it didn't need an hour to cook to a thick consistency...would have needed to add additional stock or water if I'd cooked it that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States