Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I'd never made hot dog chili before, so this recipe looked like a good place to start. The results were great, so I don't plan to going back to canned chili any time soon! I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used tomato paste with a little extra water. I also sauted onions along with the ground beef. Green peppers would also be a nice addition, but my kids are too picky for that. I reduced the chili powder by a third, and wish I'd added even less. The sugar added a subtle sweetness, which was really nice. I will make this recipe again, but I will reduce the chili powder and add a little garlic powder to suit my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My kids wanted hot dogs after school so I made two of the hot dog sauce recipes from the site to try out. It was decided that we liked the taste of this sauce best. The chili powder and a "pinch" of cayenne really add a nice flavor. This also takes great on nachos with melted shredded cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was very good, I made mine in the crockpot and added dehydrated onion. I cooked it on high about 4 hours stirring occasionally. Everyone loved it! This is a keeper.Note: When cooking in crockpot use very lean beef otherwise it will be quite greasy, or you will just have to skim the fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
When I lived in the midwest I loved having a coney dog from Dog 'n Suds. They don't exist in my hometown anymore and I've been searching for a recipe that is close to their sauce taste. This was a winner. Not exactly but pretty close. We enjoyed our treat of coney's with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Reminds me of B&L, Lupo's, Yann's, T&L hotdogs back home in Fairmont, WV! The best hotdogs anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I added a LOT of spices to make this tasty, but it in the end it was just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this for my son's 13 birthday party. My mom is the best hot dog chili maker all she had to say about this is that this was the best she had ever had! Coming from my mom that is wonderful. She is picky about everything she eats. Thanks for such a great recipe. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mofks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
We rented a hot dog cart for our daughter's graduation party and this recipe was a great topping for our dogs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
this is so much easier than browning the meat. i just throw it in a dutch oven and let it cook, stirring occasionally. i add some cayenne pepper for a kick and delete the white sugar. i think a small squirt of french's yellow mustard is a must. and you have to have cole slaw on the dog for an authentic west virginia hot dog. for the anatomy of a west virginia hot dog check out...wvhotdogs.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Husband loved this more than I did. I added a wee bit of garlic powder. With some cheese, diced onion, and yellow mustard, this made a pretty substantial hot dog. Would be nice with a slice of bacon too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States