Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe. I ended up adding more of the tomato sauce. It just did not look like there was much in it,I thought it needed to be more "red" looking!! I think I added 1 cup. I could eat it with a spoon. Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This chili recipe is so good. I omited the red pepper flakes and added onions and garlic powder. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I served this for my daughters 9th birthday party. A lot of kids ate it and the parents went WILD over it. Two people asked me for the recipe. A few people just scooped it with potato chips and one just ate a sauce dog (sauce on a bun). I doubled the liquid ( it takes a while to cook down but I liked it with more sauce).I used chicken broth instead of water and didn't use any hot pepper. I will make a big batch and freeze in smaller containers so we can always have it on hand. Good Good Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Without a doubt the best hotdog sauce I have ever tasted. Just the right amount of spice and even a little kick with the chili flakes. Does make alot of sauce but freezes easily for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Loved this! I decided to make this at the last minute and the only burger I had were frozen patties. Thawed and cooked them in the water, then tossed the rather chunky burger into my food processor, great texture. Anyway I added Cumin after reading another reviewers suggestion and this stuff is fantastic! It's a keeper, I won't be trying any other hot dog sauce recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The cooking technique makes this chili the PERFECT consistency! It would also work well for preparing taco filling. I strongly recommend the addition of 2 T. cumin to give it real chili flavor. 1 T. each of onion and garlic powder are also nice additions. Thanks for the super recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I have made this twice. The last time I made it I used a total of 2 cups of tomato sauce. I left out the water and ketchup. It made it a little simpler and didn't really change the flavor. I also added 1/2 tbs Garlic Powder. My husband says it puts canned hot dog sauce to shame. Also, I freeze the leftovers. 1 cup of sauce is perfect for four hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was okay.It tasted like spicy Sloppy Joe. I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I'd never made hot dog chili before, so this recipe looked like a good place to start. The results were great, so I don't plan to going back to canned chili any time soon! I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used tomato paste with a little extra water. I also sauted onions along with the ground beef. Green peppers would also be a nice addition, but my kids are too picky for that. I reduced the chili powder by a third, and wish I'd added even less. The sugar added a subtle sweetness, which was really nice. I will make this recipe again, but I will reduce the chili powder and add a little garlic powder to suit my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My kids wanted hot dogs after school so I made two of the hot dog sauce recipes from the site to try out. It was decided that we liked the taste of this sauce best. The chili powder and a "pinch" of cayenne really add a nice flavor. This also takes great on nachos with melted shredded cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

All-American Burger Dog

Want something deliciously different for the grill? Burger dog to the rescue!

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States