Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This was very well received at the community BBQ/potluck I took it to yesterday. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, so I added a couple Tbs of beef flavored Better Than Bouillon to make up for the lack of flavor. Also, I discovered that I only had about 1 teaspoon of chili powder, so I added a chipotle bouillon cube. This made it too spicy for the kids that would be attending the BBQ, so I added about 3 Tbs of tomato paste.....PERFECTION! I'll definitely make this again. UPDATE: I made this again, using ground beef this time. We didn't care for it as much as we did when I made it with the turkey, but it was still good. I ended up with about half of the recipe left over, so the next night I mixed it with some cooked rice and made stuffed bell peppers. It was REALLY good that way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Made it for my kid's birthday party and the adults loved it. Used turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Ok-decent flavor. I think I'm just a chili dog kinda gal, not coney. Glad I tried it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! This is almost my recipe except to kick it up I add a few dashes of hot sauce and one dash of vinegar to cut the tomato sauce a little. I use brown sugar rather than white and I add extra according to taste - some of my family likes it a little sweeter, so I make it all different ways!i also add a tablespoon of mustard and one whole diced onion! I use more chili powder than this recipe as we like ours a little "bolder". I use only McCormicks Chili powder as I do not get the same results with every powder. HAPPY COOKING AND ENJOY THOSE DOGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
It was just okay. It wasn't all that much better than the can stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I must've done something horribly wrong which is out of the ordinary for me. The outcome looked like ALPO and no one ate it. I froze it to make tacos with at a later date. I'll stick with chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was banging chili! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I was looking for a diner-style chilli recipe to make chilli cheese fries and this was PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Great hot dog sauce recipe! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very good Hot Dog Sauce, a little finer in texture then you regular canned stuff but a great taste. I liked it alot and it made alot too, for the next day. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States